Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 33

    Slow? And Exchange?

    This is a discussion on Slow? And Exchange? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Dear All, I am new here and no doubt you have herd this a thousand times. My net keeps droping ...

    1. #1
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Page loading slow, have to keep rebooting ?

      Dear All,

      I am new here and no doubt you have herd this a thousand times.
      My net keeps droping off, some times VERY slow page loading etc. When I do "Connection Status" in the router it says dissconected. I power it down then up again and all back. This can happen every 5 mins or once an hour.
      Any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site the_big_1

      Have a read of this post it could help Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I got lost on the first Paragraph!
      All I know is I un plug the power off the router, plug it back and all is well again.
      There is no frequency to when this happens out longest I have had is bout an hour.

    5. #4
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow? And Exchange?

      Dear All,

      New on here and not an expert.
      I have tried a speed test, one people mention here and all I get download speed at is just under 6mB and I am supposed to be on 16mB. Upload is under 600Kb.
      Does this sound right?
      Also, my cennection drops on my ADSL very oftern, not the wireless but the ADSL.
      Also, how do I find what my exchange is ect?

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Firstly post your line stats, CHECK http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/showt...8888#post28888

      Then for exchange CHECK http://www.samknows.com/broadband/search.php

      Also welcome to the site!

    7. #6
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi ya!

      Here goes!

      General information
      Exchange name: Oldham
      Exchange code: MROLD
      Location: Oldham,
      North West
      Postcode: OL11BA
      Maps: Our map | Multimap | Streetmap
      Serves (approx): 61,655 residential premises
      3,157 non-residential premises

      Stats from Router:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 26166 41757 0 1397 13159 01:04:23
      LAN 10M/100M 264 0 0 17 0 01:05:44
      WLAN 11M/54M 42928 28188 0 13174 1513 01:05:34

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6499 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 32.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 11.0 db

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Please try reading your other posts before starting news ones which may have answers to your questions, I have merged the posts.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Your exchange seems very congested, 61,655

      Your noise margin is low, Thats what could cause the router to frequently disconnect!
      But with an attenuation of 50.0db 6MB is probably the max you will ever see!.

      Thanx for merging it Wheelie, Was wondering where the other one went!

    10. #9
      prolink's Avatar
      prolink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SKY+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      You line attenuation gives he following results:

      3.0 - 6.0 Mbps

      Based on the attenuation you entered, we estimate that your line can support around 3.0 - 6.0 Mbps on ADSL2+.



      Results are based on a SNR of 6-10dB and an Output Power of 21-23dB for short lines and 18-20dB for long lines.

      * Note: The figures quoted above are estimates only - it is impossible to be exactly sure what your line can support until you are activated for the ADSL2+ service.

    11. #10
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks all,

      Why was I sold 16Mb if I can never get it?
      And from the stats, does that say I will always be getting dissconected?
      I was with Plusnet 3 years and never got dissconected once.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION