Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 33

    Slow? And Exchange?

    This is a discussion on Slow? And Exchange? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; This bit I think: Your noise margin is low, Thats what could cause the router to frequently disconnect! But with ...

    1. #21
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      This bit I think:

      Your noise margin is low, Thats what could cause the router to frequently disconnect!
      But with an attenuation of 50.0db 6MB is probably the max you will ever see!.

      What can I do about it?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Does anyone know how to resoleve the above please?

    4. #23
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,085
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
      You've been given lots of advice but not much information!

      The most common cause of disconnections is noise on your line passing the level that your router can cope with. In your router stats you will see a figure called noise margin. For your router to operate properly this figure must be above about 6.2db. Disconnections will happen with lower noise margin than this.

      During the day line noise changes with the evenings being particularly bad.

      This is fairly easy to deal with. Please read the following for a more detailed explanation of the above and a solution:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=5969

      The second most common cause is a problem with UPnP on the Sky router. This affects some people but not others. If this is affecting you then the symptoms are regular disconnects - approximately every 15-16 minutes.

      The cure for this problem is to turn UPnP off in your router admin pages (bottom of menu).
      Last edited by Saturday; 19-11-06 at 09:19 PM.

    5. #24
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      It all baffles me :0( all I want is my internet to stay on like it used to, what is a step by step thing to do to make it that way?

    6. #25
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,085
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
      What bit baffles you?

      Look - here it is in simple terms:

      1. Turn off UPnP in your router.
      2. Look at your router stats. When the noise margin drops below 6.5db reboot your router. Watch the stats again. When the noise margin drops below 6.5db reboot your router. Keep doing this until it doesn't drop below 6.5db. Now, do not turn your router off, or you will have to start again.


      Those two things will cure 90% of disconnection problems.

      Can't make it any clearer than that

    7. #26
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thats perfect!
      How many times does it normaly, or estimate to get above 6.5?
      Mine keeps showing 5.3

    8. #27
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hey!

      I just got this, how does it look?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5067 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 32.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 11.0 db

    9. #28
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,085
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
      It should always sync at 6.9db or higher when you reboot. If it doesn't then you have a serious problem with your line or possibly with the exchange equipment.

      If you have a reasonably new master socket then it has what's called a test socket behind the faceplate. Unscrew it and gently pull away to reveal it.

      Plug your router into this and see what the stats are. If they are much better (noise margin and connection speed higher) then you need to improve your connection filter quality.

      You seem to have a bit of an aversion to reading instructions on this forum. Unfortunately short of one of us coming round your house that's the only way you'll solve your problems.

      Start with the link I gave you a couple of posts ago:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=5969

      It should be relatively easy to understand. If there's a particular point that seems baffling then ask about that point.

    10. #29
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for all your help.
      So realy if I get good figures, above 6.5 at the test socket and not after then my filtered faceplate has gone, my router is direct in to the master socket.
      If I get poor result on the test socket then its BT problem.
      I have had two issues of crackilng on my line, once an engineer came around and it was "intermittent break in the wire" second time it was done via the web site. My cable to the house is still the old type two core copper cable, anyone had issues with it?

    11. #30
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,085
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
      OK. Your post crossed while I was writing mine.

      Are you really reading through the suggestions I've made? If so you must be a speed reader. Slow it down a bit and try and follow the advice rather than scanning the posts and immediately responding.

      If you've read the advice then you know that as you now have 7.1db, if/when it drops reboot again and so on.

      EDIT: AAAAHGH - You did it again!

      Read this:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=5969
      Last edited by Saturday; 19-11-06 at 09:48 PM.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION