Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Help with sites and gaming

    This is a discussion on Help with sites and gaming within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Heya, first time here so be gentle! I got Skyconnect on Friday, and so far I cant say I am ...

    1. #1
      Whoodoo's Avatar
      Whoodoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help with sites and gaming

      Heya, first time here so be gentle! I got Skyconnect on Friday, and so far I cant say I am impressed.

      Heres my problems:

      Random disconnects - I have tried a few things, cooling the router with a 12v Thermaltake spare fan I had kicking around, seems to work as far as temp goes, but doesnt help the main problem..

      Some web sites seem to be slow, others are fine, again this seems random.

      My main problem is in gaming, with Dark Age of Camelot, Battlefield 2 and 2142 and Counterstrike. Again random disconnects on all the above, ranging from 5 - 180 minutes. I ran an pingplot to my DAoC server and it seems my problems start at Easynet, worsening as they progress, but the linkdeads seem to come from Easynet themselves, and no one else I know is having any issues with the game, heres what it looks like after 30 minutes or so:



      Any suggestions?

      PS, heres my router info I know you all like to see

      System Up Time 02:55:23
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 570994 610224 0 9721 33261 02:54:58
      LAN 10M/100M 552181 519936 0 33370 10469 02:55:21
      WLAN 11M/54M 68204 67223 0 1243 448 02:55:12


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4416 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 28.0 db
      Noise Margin 5.9 db 21.0 db
      Last edited by Whoodoo; 19-11-06 at 01:54 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi Whoodoo

      Welcome to skyuser.co.uk

      Unfortunately one of the charcteristics of Connect is the 10 day training period This is where the BT network so to speak tries to ascertain the best possible stable speed for your line, this will drop your line every now and then to see if your line can cope.

      I would leave it 10 days from connection to see if it has settled down




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Whoodoo's Avatar
      Whoodoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Many thanks for the reply, Ill go back to crying in my cornflakes for 10 days then, working in the comms industry I might have guessed BT would be something to do with this

    5. #4
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      HOT Router

      Try standing the router vertically. Use the supplied legs.
      When I first had mine I placed it flat and it did get hot.

      I did not have to train Sky Max.
      It worked out of the box with a LAN connection.



      My Sky Max connection is fast and reliable....

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Its not really a fault that BT make, Its with the lines compatability! They do this 10 day TRAINING period to check what the lines most stable speed is!

      This is what they cap you on after the training Period Is Up!

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @Whoodoo

      If you like you can get more info here and here
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      WoW! thats very informative @Wheelie!

    9. #8
      Whoodoo's Avatar
      Whoodoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for all the replies guys.

      I did stand my router up, but now the marshmellows I was baking on the top get stuck in the little holes - tbh it has improved circulation around it, but its way over recommended opperating temp still (40deg C according to the manual, and most chip manufacturers recomendations)

      Thanks for the BT info, I cant find mention of this in any of the Sky bumf to warn of this, and I do think its something users should be made more aware of.

      Heyho, lets see if things smooth out after they take my training wheels off.

      The problem with DAoC is still there tho, with a constant 30% packet loss at Easynet. Francetelecom has always had backbone issues, but not like this on any of the 3 other ADSL / Broadband connections I have had in the past.
      Last edited by Whoodoo; 19-11-06 at 07:45 PM.

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      I did not have to train Sky Max.
      It worked out of the box with a LAN connection.
      Thats because its only a characteristic of the Connect product.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      Whoodoo's Avatar
      Whoodoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Well my 10 days were up on Monday, and yet still the problems persisted, in fact got worse at weekends with my router loosing connection every 20-30 minutes minimum all over the weekend.

      On monday a techie friend pointed me out a way to "calm down" my problem, by lowering the noise/speed ratio (all too techie for me), which has stopped the LDs and router disconnects, but I am still having severe issues with gaming, and all seems to stem again from Easynet:



      System Up Time 16:59:43
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 179419 201728 0 279 679 16:59:13
      LAN 10M/100M 106388 81755 0 618 219 16:59:41
      WLAN 11M/54M 106023 107009 0 152 122 16:59:32


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3968 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 28.0 db
      Noise Margin 10.4 db 21.0 db

      My noise still drops to 6-7db at times, mainly in the evenings, but thats supposed to be acceptable.

      Any suggestions? BTW, the ping trace is to a Dark Age of Camelot server in Paris if that helps. No one else I know has these issues, aside small packet losses on Francetelecom from time to time.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION