Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Swap SR102 for a Sky Q router - help please

    This is a discussion on Swap SR102 for a Sky Q router - help please within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there. Newbie's first post so please be gentle with me! I currently have an SR102 router (standard broadband, not ...

    1. #1
      TrufflesLola's Avatar
      TrufflesLola is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2018
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Swap SR102 for a Sky Q router - help please

      Hi there. Newbie's first post so please be gentle with me!


      I currently have an SR102 router (standard broadband, not fibre) and have been given a Sky Q router by someone who has recently left Sky (and does not need to return the router).


      Can I simply swap over to the Q router or, as I suspect is more likely, have to change the existing internal username and password for the ones that are buried in my SR102?


      If so, how do I get the new info into the Q router? I've found ways to extract my details from the SR102 (using wireshark) but not how to put it into the Q.

      Thanks for any help you can give,


      Caroline


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      727
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 56 Times in 56 Posts

      Re: Swap SR102 for a Sky Q router - help please

      well for sky fibre you don't need to extract the username and password at the moment as anything will work provided it's in the right format. it's possible the qhub will work with no changes.I don't use sky routers but I would think you won't be able to edit the hard coded details on the qhub...
      plug it in anyway and see if it works....
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Swap SR102 for a Sky Q router - help please

      If you are using Sky ADSL any Router issued by Sky will work, you don't have to change anything. If you have Fibre, either the SR102 or one of the ER routers will work, ditto.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      TrufflesLola's Avatar
      TrufflesLola is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2018
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Swap SR102 for a Sky Q router - help please

      Thanks to you both for your replies.

      I'd put off just plugging the new router in and just giving it a try as I was assuming that there would be some info/username/password "hidden" within the router that would maybe link it back to the original owner. Sounds like that isn't the case?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Swap SR102 for a Sky Q router - help please

      Sounds like that isn't the case?
      Yes, unlike other ISPs, Sky build the connection details into their router and not the individual user. The only time you need these details is if you want to use a non-Sky router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      TrufflesLola (22-03-18)

    8. #6
      TrufflesLola's Avatar
      TrufflesLola is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2018
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Swap SR102 for a Sky Q router - help please

      Well, I plugged the Q hub in yesterday and it seems to be working fine. My main concern was that it could cause problems for the original owner if they went back to sky but hopefully it will be ok!

      Thank you very much for your help.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION