Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    network for dummies....

    This is a discussion on network for dummies.... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Could someone tell me how to network 2 pc's together, in rather basic language, so i can see the folders ...

    1. #1
      Drew22's Avatar
      Drew22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      network for dummies....

      Could someone tell me how to network 2 pc's together, in rather basic language, so i can see the folders and files etc on the other pc.

      I have 1 pc connected to router via ethernet cable (pc i use most)
      and another connected via wireless

      Is it possible to connect them, and if so, some basic steps would be great
      Last edited by Drew22; 18-11-06 at 02:39 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Your computer needs to be connected via wireless to create a adhoc network!

      But if that isnt an option, You may need to get a wireless network bridge?

    4. #3
      Drew22's Avatar
      Drew22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      adhoc network!
      I said basic language

    5. #4
      Drew22's Avatar
      Drew22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      found this in another thread, which is same error im now getting after running the wizards..

      that was my problem.
      for fellow dummies out there I right clicked my mcafee icon and under firewall options I clicked the 'allow computers on your lan access'.also right clicked the windows lan icon in the tray thingy to change the windows firewall settings (in advanced,uncheck the wireless network).rebooted both pc's and i'm now sharing like a dream.
      thanks again, from a happy punter !!
      but i dont see this option in mcafees firewwall

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      No! Because you cant share files over the Netgear router?

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Quote Originally Posted by Drew22 View Post
      I said basic language
      Sorry!
      In computer networking, ad hoc is a network connection method which is most often associated with wireless devices. The connection is established for the duration of one session and requires no base station. Instead, devices discover others within range to form a network for those computers. Devices may search for target nodes that are out of range by flooding the network with broadcasts that are forwarded by each node. Connections are possible over multiple nodes (multihop ad hoc network). Routing protocols then provide stable connections even if nodes are moving around. Sony's PlayStation Portable uses ad hoc connections for wireless multiplayer gaming.

    8. #7
      Drew22's Avatar
      Drew22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      thanks for your time.

      Ive system restored to before i started messing

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      However if you were to get like 20 wireless adaptor, Then this would work! You could set-up networks drives so that could share files!

    10. #9
      Plusnet suck's Avatar
      Plusnet suck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      114
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Drew22 View Post
      Could someone tell me how to network 2 pc's together, in rather basic language, so i can see the folders and files etc on the other pc.

      I have 1 pc connected to router via ethernet cable (pc i use most)
      and another connected via wireless

      Is it possible to connect them, and if so, some basic steps would be great
      Yes it is possible, we have 6 pc's on our home network 3 wireless and 3 conected directly to the router. so long as your wireless Pc can connect to the internet it is easy to set up your home network.

      2 questions first

      Can the wireless Pc connect to the internet ?
      What OS are the pc's using ?

    11. #10
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      He wants to connect directly, He could use the inbuilt settings as the wireless use IP address 192.168.0.3 so thats the IP he would use?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION