Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Why - Me!

    This is a discussion on Why - Me! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Does anyone know how much BT would charge to get the whole place re-wired???...

    1. #11
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Does anyone know how much BT would charge to get the whole place re-wired???


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      This may not be the exact figure but it's something like 115 for the first hour then 65 an hour after that.

      From what you've described it would be a doddle to improve things yourself.

    4. #13
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
      I only have 1 set of cables to my main socket which does feed 2 extensions. The 1 set of cables is then 'split' off at a further hidden point under my upstairs flooring using a splitter box, so it is reasonable to only have 1 set of extension wiring at the master socket which feeds multiple extension sockets.

    5. #14
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      I think FibreOptic said that there was only one pair of wires in his socket, not one pair in and one pair out - but maybe I misread/misunderstood his earlier posts.

      If he has a pair out from his master socket which are then split then he should fit his new socket somewhere between the existing socket and the splitter. If he has a splitter which then goes to two sockets he should fit his new socket immediately after the splitter and run the two extensions from it.

    6. #15
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Saturday, You heard me right! ONE PAIR - Just IN!

    7. #16
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Well got off the phone with this nice chappy called Jamie in Tier3 and am I glad I spoke to him!

      He tried several time tweaking resetting the connection and then after 30mins of checking we decided it was best to cap it at 8096kbps! Im not really fussed, Still have my telewest!

      Seems this is an issue with the contention, As when I connected I was on my own! I had the whole Sky Redditch LLU to myself, Since then 300 Users have been connected!

      So what can I say!

      Im happy!


      Some details for ya!

      Easynet : 02070324444
      Sky Tech Support : 08000512595

      Quote - BB1 to speak direct to Tier3!

    8. #17
      nFuriate's Avatar
      nFuriate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hmm interesting. Hope my speed doesn't drop as much as yours did due to contention! My exchange is supposedly one of the most 'cramped' exchanges in the UK with 40,775 residential premises and 2,016 non-residential premises.

      Also, according to the availability checker on the Sky BB website you can no longer get the Base mid or max in my area due to too much popularity!

      Oh well only time will tell.
      Last edited by nFuriate; 19-11-06 at 12:08 AM.

    9. #18
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Right! Well listen to this,

      I rang sky yesterday to confirm this "FastPath" & "Interleave" stuff! And asked to be MOVED onto Interleaved, And Since Last Night, My speeds have been blazing!


    10. #19
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      nice

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION