Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Setting up a VPN possible? I've just bought an Asus AC68U

    This is a discussion on Setting up a VPN possible? I've just bought an Asus AC68U within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey all I've just bought an Asus AC68U router with the hope of setting up a VPN on it. I ...

    1. #1
      prizen's Avatar
      prizen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2017
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Setting up a VPN possible? I've just bought an Asus AC68U

      Hey all

      I've just bought an Asus AC68U router with the hope of setting up a VPN on it. I want to have a secure way of viewing my ip cameras without using port forwarding.

      Can I setup the Asus as a wireless access point and run a VPN from this?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      coipu's Avatar
      coipu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EADER
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: pfSense 2.3.4(i386)
      Sky TV: Cord Cut
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Wherever I lay my VPN
      Posts
      493
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Setting up a VPN possible? I've just bought an Asus AC68U

      You can only access the VPN server/client tabs etc when It's in router mode, it all disappears when in AP mode.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to coipu For This Useful Post:

      prizen (15-11-17)

    5. #3
      prizen's Avatar
      prizen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2017
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up a VPN possible? I've just bought an Asus AC68U

      Quote Originally Posted by coipu View Post
      You can only access the VPN server/client tabs etc when It's in router mode, it all disappears when in AP mode.
      I've since returned this unit. Any recommedations on a router to use so I can setup a VPN without double NAT / private IP etc?

    6. #4
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + pfSense 2.4b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,712
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 126 Times in 119 Posts

      Re: Setting up a VPN possible? I've just bought an Asus AC68U

      You'll always struggle with double NAT in one way or another. If you want to run VPN's etc then the best option is to bin off the Q hub and use your own separates or modem/router combo.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to marjohn56 For This Useful Post:

      prizen (16-11-17)

    8. #5
      prizen's Avatar
      prizen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2017
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up a VPN possible? I've just bought an Asus AC68U

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      You'll always struggle with double NAT in one way or another. If you want to run VPN's etc then the best option is to bin off the Q hub and use your own separates or modem/router combo.

      Thanks. Binning the SKY hub would leave me without the second set top box and functionalities live live tv pause etc?

    9. #6
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + pfSense 2.4b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,712
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 126 Times in 119 Posts

      Re: Setting up a VPN possible? I've just bought an Asus AC68U

      Why's that then?

      I have 'Q' with 'Q' minis but I'm not on Sky broadband, I was, but even when I had Sky broadband I did not use a Sky supplied router.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION