Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 20 of 26 FirstFirst ... 101819202122 ... LastLast
    Results 191 to 200 of 259

    Tier 3 information

    This is a discussion on Tier 3 information within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Much as being set to fastpath would lower your latency it doesnt matter who you speak to the rules are ...

    1. #191
      Oneiros's Avatar
      Oneiros is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESFAL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      Much as being set to fastpath would lower your latency it doesnt matter who you speak to the rules are very clear, lines are set to interleave. Sorry.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #192
      totalwar's Avatar
      totalwar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bermonsey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky HD T1x2
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      found out something interesting phone back the number that tier 3 phoned me on 02070324444 and it turns out to be easynet so sky getting there tier 3 done by easynet this could be the reason for the diffence tiers of support and the reason for the delays.Sky must be doing the the tier 1 support.They also stopped the 0150 and will not transfel you from sky switchboard.
      Last edited by totalwar; 11-09-07 at 04:52 PM.

    4. #193
      jonny1st's Avatar
      jonny1st is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      115
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      sky bought easynet. Easynet and sky split the tier 3 work
      It doesn't get better than this band lol

    5. #194
      bctom's Avatar
      bctom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bingley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Bingley, West Yorkshire
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      Hey everyone, I was wondering if someone could help or give me some advice.

      I got sky broadband max package (16mb) installed a couple of weeks ago but I am only getting download speeds of around 6mb, my router stats say 8mbps. I tried calling sky tech support yesterday and the person I spoke to did the line test and said that was all I am capable of getting. I explained that I live 750metres from the exchange in a brand new house and only had my bt line installed last week but the person just said sorry but your line can only support that speed.

      I have read above and just tried calling sky again but the person said that I called yesterday and the person yesterday told me correct and that my line wouldnt support any faster. So I asked to be put through to tier 3 but he refused and said that it would have nothing to do with tier 3 and its tier 2 who deal with speed issued. So I asked to be put through to tier 3 but he refused because I didnt have a ticket and he wouldnt issue me with one because there is nothing wrong with my connection.

      So I asked him what tier 3 did and he said "they go out and replace lines ect" so I said "they physically go out and replace lines?" To which he replied "no they would order lines to be relayed."

      Now what do I do? My account at sky probably has a big warning sign saying "Do not ticket" or "Do not put through to Tier 3"?

    6. #195
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Tier 3 information

      can u post your stats from ur router [ou may be 750 metrees from xchange straight line but your cabling could be double or even triple that ] also try master socket and try using no extensions [ie if possible pc straight into master socket or use ehtrnet cable [not phone extension cable]

    7. #196
      alex-k's Avatar
      alex-k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Peterborough , England , UK
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3

      Quote Originally Posted by Won't Be Named View Post
      You will only be passed through to Tier 3 if your ticket has been open for more than 5 days and you havn't been contacted back by them.
      lies.. i called sky like 3 weeks ago it was my first time i called them and i told them that i need to change my max delays to 8 , the guy just passed me to tier 3 and the guy from tier just setted my max delays to 8 that it didnt have to wait...
      I speak Russian / English / Lithuanian


    8. #197
      bctom's Avatar
      bctom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bingley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Bingley, West Yorkshire
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      Quote Originally Posted by dtr43 View Post
      can u post your stats from ur router [ou may be 750 metrees from xchange straight line but your cabling could be double or even triple that ] also try master socket and try using no extensions [ie if possible pc straight into master socket or use ehtrnet cable [not phone extension cable]
      System Up Time 46:08:42
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 306396 309267 0 685 21217 05:46:58
      LAN 10M/100M 4348368 5013208 0 22073 12194 46:08:40
      WLAN 11M/54M 21764 17593 0 86 7 46:08:30


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 db 17.5 db
      Noise Margin 12.9 db 14.0 db

    9. #198
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Tier 3 information

      hi not very good with the router stats but with my line attenuation of 33 db i get 10 meg [would imagine that you should get more ,try this link and see what it says http://www.skyuser.co.uk/tools/exchangechecker.php also are u defo on max ie llu ,sometimes sky limit u to 8 meg connection because of their lack of space on their llu's in exchange

    10. #199
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      Quote Originally Posted by bctom View Post
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 db 17.5 db
      Noise Margin 12.9 db 14.0 db
      You're capped at 8096kbps, probably on G.DMT too.

      With your attenuation you could expect to be on ADSL2+ provided your line is good quality. With the noise margin showing it can't be too bad though I suspect there's some noise.

      I'd suggest you make some improvements to your line then get hold of T3. You need to get past T1 by telling them you were capped for an earlier problem which is now resolved.

      Regarding your earlier query about a 6meg speedtest when your router says 8meg, that's completely normal. The router reports the sync speed. The download speed is always lower due to transmission overheads.

      You'll find a wealth of info on the forum. It may be a little daunting at first but an hours reading will help you understand what's going on and what you can do to improve things. I'd suggest you start with the first sticky in my signature then maybe the cabling and faceplate help forum.

    11. #200
      Naan_H's Avatar
      Naan_H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      OK guys, im in need of your help.

      My brother is on sky broadband, just like me. He has a rock solid connection, full 16Mbit with downstream attenuation at 15 and a noise margin at about 12.5. Approximately 11 days ago, his internet stopped working. I logged into his router, and it is synced but there is no ip address. I turned the router off, reset it, even tried a different router but it still wouldnt get an ip address. On the first day it happened, i called sky tech support, who said tier 3 will call within 5 days. Its now day 11 and nothing has happened, not one single phone call from tier 3.

      I dont know what the problem is, but this is ridiculous. There was never a problem with the connection before, it was rock solid.

      So can anybody advise on what to do, or how to get tier 3 to call because its an absolute joke.

     

     
    Page 20 of 26 FirstFirst ... 101819202122 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION