Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 12 of 26 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast
    Results 111 to 120 of 259

    Tier 3 information

    This is a discussion on Tier 3 information within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'll be trying it tonight, I have the error 300 yet again, and I am not waiting 12 days for ...

    1. #111
      Draig's Avatar
      Draig is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sly anymore
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      109
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      I'll be trying it tonight, I have the error 300 yet again, and I am not waiting 12 days for it to be sorted out this time!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #112
      Lindemans's Avatar
      Lindemans is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bury MRBUR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      Quote Originally Posted by Draig View Post
      I'll be trying it tonight, I have the error 300 yet again, and I am not waiting 12 days for it to be sorted out this time!
      Let me know how you get on.
      What is error code 300 anyway? I never really got a definitive answer on the problem.

    4. #113
      rnfrds's Avatar
      rnfrds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Deptford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      Hey all, i reported my problem on Sunday afternoon and upto about an hour ago nothing. I remember them saying 3 to 5 days for a tier 3 call back. I am on day 5 so i have given long enough. I just called about 20 mins ago, and he had a fiddle around and fixed the problem in under 5mins. So thank you Tier 3. I am now back online. The only question he asked me is did I speak to an agent before hand.

    5. #114
      Draig's Avatar
      Draig is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sly anymore
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      109
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      Quote Originally Posted by Lindemans View Post
      Let me know how you get on.
      What is error code 300 anyway? I never really got a definitive answer on the problem.
      TBH I don't know. I know it is something to do with not getting an IP address, and only tier 3 can solve it, and also it takes them less than 5 minutes to do so.

    6. #115
      Lindemans's Avatar
      Lindemans is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bury MRBUR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      But can you confirm that it is NOT a wireless only problem?

    7. #116
      Draig's Avatar
      Draig is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sly anymore
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      109
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      Yes I can, because I'm not using wireless

    8. #117
      ForToffee's Avatar
      ForToffee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Farnborough
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      By 'not getting an IP Address', the poster is refering to a real world IP Address, not one within their own network (i.e. not 192.168.0.xxx), therefore wireless is not in the equation.

      Error 300 as a result of the Sky Test button is, I believe, unable to get IP Address from Skys' servers. In my case, and it would appear in many other peoples, that there is an active line (as demonstrated by a line speed and other stats) but it is unable to authenticate and connect to Skys network on the other end. As I described it to the T3 bod this morning "the lights are on, but no one is at home".

      There seems to be two reasons for this (again, from reading posts here)

      1) Stale session at exchange (that'll be my ex-problem)
      2) Account not configured correctly at Sky end, i.e. username/password not set the same as your router.

      Like I said, this is my understanding, maybe someone with who knows better than me will correct me.

    9. #118
      Draig's Avatar
      Draig is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sly anymore
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      109
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      Amazingly I got home tonight and it is working. So from this I can only assume one of two things :-

      1) It fixed itself (pretty unlikely but possible)

      2) Some kind soul of a tier 3 bod sorted it out quickly for me - many many thanks whoever you are, my daughter badly needs internet access this weekend to finish a school project. Thank you very much.

    10. #119
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      if you dont have a current ticket or a previous ticket unresolved, I would advise you to please get one made first.

      Just a bit of general advice

    11. #120
      Lindemans's Avatar
      Lindemans is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bury MRBUR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tier 3 information

      Quote Originally Posted by Guinness View Post
      if you dont have a current ticket or a previous ticket unresolved, I would advise you to please get one made first.

      Just a bit of general advice

      So I ring Sky and ask for a ticket for Tier 3 support? Then they will contact me?

     

     
    Page 12 of 26 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION