Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 110

    Need help to decide whether to transfer from PlusNet to Sky???

    This is a discussion on Need help to decide whether to transfer from PlusNet to Sky??? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Im currently with PlusNet paying around 15 a month for a connection speed of usually between 1M and 1.5M. I ...

    1. #1
      jimbono05's Avatar
      jimbono05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adel
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Need help to decide whether to transfer from PlusNet to Sky???

      Im currently with PlusNet paying around 15 a month for a connection speed of usually between 1M and 1.5M.

      I am about 2.7Km from the exchange and the exchange is Sky/Easynet enabled.

      Here are my current stats from last night..

      Downstream Rate: 1632 Kbps
      Upstream Rate: 448 Kbps
      Downstream Margin: 6 db
      Upstream Margin: 18 db
      Downstream Line Attenuation: 44
      Upstream Line Attenuation: 28
      Downstream Transmit Power: 0
      Upstream Transmit Power: 0

      So my questions are...

      1) What speed would you expect that I'll be able to obtain with Sky. Is LLU faster than what I am currently getting with PlusNet?

      2) If you went for the Max package and could only get below 8M...will you be able to downgrade your package to the medium package with max of 8M? Obviously I would guess you would have to pay the 20 activation fee.

      3) Do you have to use the Sky router? I currently have my own wireless router.

      4) How long will it take to arrange from ordering it to working status? Will PlusNet switch off and Sky switch on?

      Thanks in advance for your help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jimbono05's Avatar
      jimbono05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adel
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just thought of another question...

      5) Does Sky BB offer any webspace with their packages? I'm guessing NO.

      Thanks.

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Jim

      It would be hard to tell what you would achieve on MAX with your stats but its possible that you could get around 8MB or higher or a lot lower all depends on your line condition, look at the links in my Sig to get more help.

      I see no reason why you shouldn't be able to downgrade as others have posted on here saying they have done so due to speed problems but I think even for a lower speed 10 unlimited downloads (FUP) is a good price as the MID package has a 40GB Cap.

      Whatever you decide to do good luck

      Yes you have to use the Sky Router.

      Times can vary some people have waited a couple of weeks some have waited a couple of months.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      No they dont but you can look at the portal if you go here http://www.skybroadband.com
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      jimbono05's Avatar
      jimbono05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adel
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks Wheelie.

      I think Im gonna go for it.....

      I put in a request to PlusNet for the Mac Key and then go from there...

      ...I've just sent them an email....should I phone the up for a quicker turn around...although it may involve hours on HOLD?

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      NP mate

      Emailing them is no good and if you phone them they will tell you, you have to do it via the portal, there is an option in it to ask for a MAC.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      jimbono05's Avatar
      jimbono05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adel
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sorry...I did actually do it via the portal in the MAC request section....any ideas how long it will take?

      Once I have the MAC key....and then contact Sky to sign up....will I then have to contact Plusnet to cancel or will it transfer over automatically?

      Cheers, Jim

    9. #8
      stripe's Avatar
      stripe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worcs
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      yep i took the plunge 2 days ago (so best get my dial up modem out the attic lol) swaped from david hasselhoff broadband, they offered me 2mb 14.99pm with 2 free months to stay, but naaaa, i like a gamble, heck i used to be with libertyserve and ic24 ,took about 5 hours to get my mac code via email. anyways got my gadget today, a nice white one, so far so good

    10. #9
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site stripe

      Good luck and I hope you have a trouble free migration.

      @Jim

      Can take them up-to 5 days but is usually quicker, I don't remember how long it was to get mine as it was a while ago.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    11. #10
      Calavera's Avatar
      Calavera is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Heywood
      Broadband ISP: Trying for SKYBB
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      yo Jimbono

      ive just started my move from plunsnet to sky.

      bet i beat you!
      "What exactly are you saving your money for? A rainy day? 'Cuz let me tell you--You're dead. Every day is rainy from now on".

      - Manny Calavera
      Grim Fandango

     

     
    Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION