Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
    Results 71 to 80 of 110

    Need help to decide whether to transfer from PlusNet to Sky???

    This is a discussion on Need help to decide whether to transfer from PlusNet to Sky??? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; yayyyyyyyyy! my router came!! AND THEN 10 mins later so did the dreaded postman. Mr. Sky has told me that ...

    1. #71
      Calavera's Avatar
      Calavera is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Heywood
      Broadband ISP: Trying for SKYBB
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      yayyyyyyyyy! my router came!!

      AND THEN 10 mins later so did the dreaded postman. Mr. Sky has told me that BT have found a fault in my line and i have to wait 7 more days.. 7 more days then my activation date i dont have.. hmm
      "What exactly are you saving your money for? A rainy day? 'Cuz let me tell you--You're dead. Every day is rainy from now on".

      - Manny Calavera
      Grim Fandango


    2. Advertisement
    3. #72
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The other half has just phoned (on her mobile) saying she thinks there's a problem with our phone line .... which is hopefully good news, in that they are currently doing the switch

    4. #73
      jimbono05's Avatar
      jimbono05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adel
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      So Adam.....how did it go....has it happened yet?

    5. #74
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      False alarm I'm afraid.

      The problem with the phone was a tripped fuse caused by the heating element in our oven going

      So still waiting - and still testing the Sky router daily
      Last edited by Wheelie; 29-11-06 at 12:20 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

    6. #75
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      That's one draw back of having cordless telephones in the event of having power failure you can't phone up to complain. Sometimes it's best to have a normal phone installed for that reason.

    7. #76
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      On the subject of cordless/DECT phones, I gather from reading various threads on here that they can interfere with the wireless signal to/from the router (and, hence, affect the download speed).

      Is there any sort of payoff that needs to be considered (when you have DECT phones) between using the router wirelessly and plugged into the master socket and using the router wired and plugged into an extension ??
      Last edited by Wheelie; 29-11-06 at 12:20 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

    8. #77
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well - the other half has just phoned .... the home PC can't get to any websites and Thunderbird can't connect to our ISP, so fingers crossed

      She also said she'd much rather read her book than swap the current router over with the Sky one to check it works !!!!

    9. #78
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well fingers crossed Adam

      All she needs to do is see if the (i) Internet light is working with your old router then you will know for sure

      As for cordless/DECT phones some do some don't depends on the age I have a new Panasonic KXTCD820ES and its ok.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #79
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Wheelie View Post
      All she needs to do is see if the (i) Internet light is working with your old router then you will know for sure
      As in - the old, Plus.net connection, router's Internet light should be off, right ?

      Then just hope when I get home that the new router's light comes on and stays on.

      Also, tried connecting to the Sky portal last night using the username/password Sky sent me - couldn't get in !!! Would I be right in thinking that according to the wording of the letter, you can't access the portal (not that I will need to) until Sky think your active ??
      Last edited by AdamBrunt; 29-11-06 at 12:48 PM.

    11. #80
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I don't remember what SkyBB package you went for but either way the light should return for the Connect package its just a BT change for LLU its a case of moving the wires from BT's DSlams to Easynet's LLU DSlams so the light would have gone off for up to 2 hours then returned.

      From what the other half has said I would guess the latter is the case
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION