Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 110

    Need help to decide whether to transfer from PlusNet to Sky???

    This is a discussion on Need help to decide whether to transfer from PlusNet to Sky??? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Good luck Calavera.... ...what stage are you at so far? and how long did it take for you to get ...

    1. #11
      jimbono05's Avatar
      jimbono05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adel
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Good luck Calavera....

      ...what stage are you at so far?

      and how long did it take for you to get you MAC key?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Calavera's Avatar
      Calavera is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Heywood
      Broadband ISP: Trying for SKYBB
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      yo.

      well.. when was it now.. hmm.

      Ah

      -rang up sky said "hit me" on tuesday
      -they said i need my mac key
      -applied for my mac from plusnet online at about 6pm tuesday
      -recieved mac key at 11pm wednesday
      -rang sky with my mac key at 3pm wednesday
      -got a letter from sky this morning saying my order had been started and i owe 0.00 for my equiptment (which should come nxt week)
      "What exactly are you saving your money for? A rainy day? 'Cuz let me tell you--You're dead. Every day is rainy from now on".

      - Manny Calavera
      Grim Fandango

    4. #13
      jimbono05's Avatar
      jimbono05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adel
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Excellent...fingers crossed that mine goes so well...

      ...thanks everyone for your input!

    5. #14
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I am also thinking of leaving Plus for Sky - for the 12 a month saving if nothing else.

      I currently have a Netgear DG834 (wired) router whose stats are telling me:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6016 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38 db 11 db
      Noise Margin 3 db 26 db

      now the SNR could be a problem (that goes up and down between 3 and 8 all the time) as I understand it with dropped connections but ... according to dslzoneuk.net, my attentuation could get me between 10 and 14MB

      I also have a SAR-715 router which gives me similar stats but a more consistent SNR.

      Do you have to use the router supplied by Sky ?? Or is it possible to find out your username and password and just user any router you like ?

    6. #15
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi Adam

      Can I Use my own Router with Sky Broadband?

      answers the router bit for you




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #16
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I am also currently migrating from plusnet, phoned up got my MAC key and signed up with sky.

      I have already got my router and my line should be activated on the 23rd, and my plusnet line should stop on the 28th, so no internet down periods

      Hope all goes well!

    8. #17
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well - just applied for my Plus MAC key via the Portal (couldn't seem to get through to a human on the phone - the menu system just sent me round and round in circles).

      For some reason, the Portal asked what date I wanted to leave - I thought you just had to give 30 days notice so I simply put 20/12.

      Let's see how long it takes to get the reply ... I don't owe them any deferred payments so hopefully there won't be a hitch

    9. #18
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I had that problem with the phone sending me in circles, just lie, and select options you think will get you to a human, worked for me! He must have been a bit confused though, but I still got my MAC key

      Chrrrris

    10. #19
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Kay? There is now an option for Requesting a MAC Code on their phone system!

    11. #20
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Is there? I couldn't find it
      Last edited by Wheelie; 29-11-06 at 12:12 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

     

     
    Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION