Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    McAfee Internet Security Suite - on router?

    This is a discussion on McAfee Internet Security Suite - on router? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, There are a lot of posts out there about McAfee - most of them not very complementary. I ...

    1. #1
      statsdave's Avatar
      statsdave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01786
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2017
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      McAfee Internet Security Suite - on router?

      Hi all,

      There are a lot of posts out there about McAfee - most of them not very complementary. I fear I know the answer to the question below but I thought I'd ask the forum before taking it further.

      There was a problem with my bill, and while dealing withthat (on the phone with Sky) I noticed a £3 a month charge for "McAfeeInternet Security Suite". I’ve been paying for 4 years (but that's my own fault).



      Now security is a necessity but I don’t recall installing McAfee onany laptops or devices. So I enquired as to what it was I was paying for andwhy. The Broadband help team confirmed that “McAfee Internet SecuritySuite is installed in the router" (now 4 years old; received in July 2013), and as I also have AVG on the laptops I am "doubly protected".


      This is great. If technology has moved on to do thisat the router then fantastic. But ... at the same time this soundsimplausible. A quick check of my router 192.168.0.1 shows nothing that wouldindicate that any additional software is installed. It also seems at odds with every security software I have every used (which is usually installed on the laptops).


      Can anyone confirm that “McAfee Internet SecuritySuite" is installed in the router?
      Or as I suspect, I am being taken for a mug and paying more than I need to for a service I can get for free from AVG etc.


      Kind regards
      Dave


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,805
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: McAfee Internet Security Suite - on router?

      I think someone is telling you porkies..
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    4. #3
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,032
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: McAfee Internet Security Suite - on router?

      Installed in the router, haha!
      Are you sure they were not talking more about the Sky broadband shield controls through MySky?

      Sky have offered Mcafee as part of their service for years. Sky do not not install it, its a manual install, but many years ago if i remember correctly they did offer a connection cd that could install it.
      Must admit I would not go anywhere near McAfee Myself.
      All the details here of the deal;
      https://www.sky.com/help/articles/mc...security-suite

    5. #4
      statsdave's Avatar
      statsdave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01786
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2017
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee Internet Security Suite - on router?

      Thanks lettice and marjohn56
      It is as I suspected. I'm paying for a security software that is not installed and not doing anything.

      Kind Regards
      Dave

    6. #5
      wizard200's Avatar
      wizard200 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gatwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max + Sky Talk
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110UK + SkyQ Booster EE120
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb + mini
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Location
      west sussex
      Posts
      228
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: McAfee Internet Security Suite - on router?

      Hello All
      If I remember correctly many years ago (around 8-9) when I changed to sky BB
      McAfee was given Free for 6-9 months as part of the signing up ' Offer but if you
      agreed to the terms you had to cancel before the ' Free Term' was up....!! or it
      would be like Readers Digest almost impossible to get rid of in your Lifetime..............

      I never took up that part of the offer but I know Many that got Caught without realising.


      Just a Thought.............



      McAfee Internet Security Suite - on router?-14919335192721421267.jpg
      Last edited by wizard200; 11-04-17 at 07:02 PM. Reason: XEyed not enought beer

    7. #6
      Burreh's Avatar
      Burreh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2017
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee Internet Security Suite - on router?

      Hah, McAfee installed on a router I believe this isn't the first time they're telling such bull**** to their customers. It must have worked previously...

      Best regards,
      Hannah

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION