Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    BB & Line rental switch?

    This is a discussion on BB & Line rental switch? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have sky bb (not fibre) and line rental, out of contract. If i switch to bt fibre & line ...

    1. #1
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      290
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      BB & Line rental switch?

      I have sky bb (not fibre) and line rental, out of contract.

      If i switch to bt fibre & line rental will they do it all at the same time.

      Was thinking at first just to upgrade to sky fibre but they seem to be 18 month contacts now, the one i was looking at was up to 38mb
      and 25gb a month allowance, also 59.99 set up fee.

      The BT one is up to 52mb unlimited with 12 months and 59 setup fee, seems a better deal.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,047
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: BB & Line rental switch?

      Its all automated and changeover can take up to midnight on the activation date.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    4. #3
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      290
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BB & Line rental switch?

      Is fibre just about download speeds and not faster page loading etc.
      I can not get above 4.7mb because of the distance from the exchange.
      Doing a rough walk to the fibre street cabinet its about 90 yards away, its next to our landline phone cabinet so its quite close.

      Not sure its worth the extra cost with the added setup fee of 59.99 as i don't download films or any real heavy downloading.
      Is there any advantage if fast heavy downloading is not a priority?.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    5. #4
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: BB & Line rental switch?

      Do you not use On Demand with your HD box?

      Page loading is faster too, especially with sites that use a lot of graphics.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    6. #5
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      290
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BB & Line rental switch?

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      Do you not use On Demand with your HD box?

      Page loading is faster too, especially with sites that use a lot of graphics.
      No its just basic stuff email, shopping, banking. watch the odd youtube vid, but as it is now its quite a reliable connection
      albeit only 4.7mb.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    7. #6
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: BB & Line rental switch?

      If you only use it for what you say then there will be little benefit in switching to fibre.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    8. #7
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      290
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BB & Line rental switch?

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      If you only use it for what you say then there will be little benefit in switching to fibre.
      Also got rid of sky tv 12 months ago, so its freeview and a bit of bbc iplayer through the smart tv, so i may scrap the idea and stay a luddite,
      The only thing i think of, is people tell me for the adsl price and line rental that i pay,i could get fibre for around the same price with just the setup fee being extra. I have no room to bargin with just dumb adsl & line rental as my products.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    9. #8
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      290
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BB & Line rental switch?

      Well i went ahead and ordered upgrade to sky fibre 2 days ago, the reason was i just wanted to try at least once the fibre speeds, as have mentioned
      can never get above the 4.7 mbps due to line distance.

      Now regretting it and thinking of a phone call to see if there is a cooling off period, and ask to keep me as before on simple ADSL, not sure if thats allowed.

      Its like if you ever bought something like clothing, and then thought i dont really need that and take it back to the shop
      Last edited by B J; 05-03-17 at 01:10 PM.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION