Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11
    Like Tree1Likes

    New Internet , Fifa 17 issues

    This is a discussion on New Internet , Fifa 17 issues within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ive had sky from the 19th December , i read that you must wait 10 days for profiling , my ...

    1. #1
      cjenks22's Avatar
      cjenks22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2017
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Internet , Fifa 17 issues

      Ive had sky from the 19th December , i read that you must wait 10 days for profiling , my ping started on 20ms 0 jitter and now has raised to 38ms 3 jitter , I have tried playing fifa 17 but the game is slow and unresponsive

      i am 740 meters away from the exchange

      Is there a way i can get a lower ping? i dont care about speeds i just want the best gaming performance.


      Router Statistics
      System Up Time: 21:16:50
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 796892 854999 0 0 0 21:15:54
      LAN Up 699176 687374 26 0 0 21:16:50
      WLAN Up 176851 126074 0 2046880 53864 21:16:15

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11158 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.0 dB 15.4 dB
      Noise Margin 5.9 dB 13.13 dB


      Poll Interval:



      Router Statistics
      System Up Time: 87:30:44
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 50056 50588 0 4665 4253 15:55:58
      LAN Up 2813010 2678004 35 410591 17768 87:30:44
      WLAN Up 572970 362758 0 846 0 87:30:09

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11249 kbps 799 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.0 dB 15.4 dB
      Noise Margin 6.1 dB 15.15 dB


      Poll Interval:
      Seconds (at least 3s):


      Below are some pics of my socket , they look very old?







    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,061
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,205 Times in 2,074 Posts

      Re: New Internet , Fifa 17 issues

      Hello cjenks and welcome to the forum.

      That's an old master socket you have there, which doesn't have a 'Test Socket'. So it's not an NTE5. This is a little annoying as one quick help would be to fit a filtered faceplate. That aside, the wiring appears to look fine and you don't appear to have any internal extensions. This is beneficial and illuminates one source for an issue.

      You say that you are 740m from the exchange. Is this as the birds fly, or by following the route that your telephone cables run?

      Using the ADSL2+ Line Checker you should be getting speeds around 16-24mb, which is better that what you are getting. However you noise margin suggests that you're getting close to the maximum. On a perfect line Sky will support a 3dB noise margin. Yours is showing at 5.9dB, which is the next step up and normally acceptable when the line isn't perfect. Remember that most lines are perfect so 3dB isn't common.

      Your upstream details may be giving a better clue. It looks like there's a hidden issue there.

      Could you take a look outside your home to see if you have a BT Junction box or something else please?

      https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=bt...w=1600&bih=760

      Could you also dial 17070. You should get 'Zoe'. Perform the line test and let us know the results please.

      Just for clarity too, your profile indicates that you have the white SR101. Can you confirm that you are using this router please? There is a reason for this as Sky have some specific software in the router's firmware which should help.

      Also can you confirm that you are using the microfilter supplied by Sky with your router and the DSL cable supplied with the router too.

      As for Sky's DLM software, with ADSL2+ Sky use their own product. This typically takes around 3 days to complete the line training, but 10 days is stated for safety as sometime it can take this long.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New Internet , Fifa 17 issues

      It appears to me that you do have internal extensions so you best bet would be to buy and fit a NTE5 faceplate with a filtered plate. They are not too expensive and fairly easy to fit.

      Your attenuation shows you have a line length of about 2 kilometres. which seems a bit much if you are only about half a K from the exchange. There is a good chance you have a wiring fault which is increasing the attenuation. An NTE5 may fix it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      cjenks22's Avatar
      cjenks22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2017
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Internet , Fifa 17 issues

      H guys,


      I just checked my exchange again on the samknows website searching by postcode (thats the only way i know how, unless theres a more accurate test?)






      I rang Zoe and got the result no echo little noise.

      Theres a green box directly outside my house on the wall, the shield that covers the wiring is open and it in a sorry state , i cant imagine what would happen if kids opened the box , potentially lethal?




      Im using sky provided microfilter and adsl cable with the router you mentioned.

      Updated router stats


      Router Statistics


      System Up Time: 79:37:57
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 34778 32581 0 845020 40588 00:11:02
      LAN Up 79266 67039 0 1408 1560 79:37:57
      WLAN Up 2840753 2139734 0 2091216 764776 79:37:22

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13166 kbps 799 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.0 dB 15.4 dB
      Noise Margin 3.0 dB 15.15 dB




      Swansea, SA55DR
      Exchange: Ravenhill (765m away)Swansea, SA55DR

      Exchange: Ravenhill (765m away)

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,061
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,205 Times in 2,074 Posts

      Re: New Internet , Fifa 17 issues

      No problem with that image from SamKnws, but that is as the crow flies. The actual path of the cables from the exchange to your home may be quite different.

      Click the link below and use the 'Address Checker' option. In the results you'll see which cabinet you should be connected to. That number should be printed on the cabinet opposite you. If instead there is a long number on that cabinet then it is for Cable TV.

      https://www.btwholesale.com/includes...cs_adslchecker

      If the cabinet is not the one opposite, then you may need to take a little walk. The link below can be used in some cases to help locate it on a map. If it picks up your cabinet correctly it'll also show you the same cabinet number.

      https://www.homeandwork.openreach.co...ast-fibre.aspx

      Did you manage to take a look outside to see if there is a junction box for the telephone line? This may be hiding some damaged cables.

      Also did you manage to do the 'quiet line' test with Zoe? There are a couple of the other tests available too.

      The Noise Margin has improved on your stats. So too has the download speed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      cjenks22's Avatar
      cjenks22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2017
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Internet , Fifa 17 issues

      I could not find a junction box, there is one one my wall but it is NTL one.

      I used the website you provided to search for the cabinet im connected to cab 31 that is directly opposite my house.
      Scubbie likes this.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,061
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,205 Times in 2,074 Posts

      Re: New Internet , Fifa 17 issues

      Ok, that's good.

      I used the measuring tool available on Google Maps to verify my telephone line route. From correspondence with a previous ISP I already knew how long the line was.

      With a little investigatory work, I've managed to trace the route from my home to the cabinet (a little further than yours in my case) and from the cabinet to the telephone exchange. In my case there's a few hundred metre difference in the distances. This is because the telephone lines run alongside the roads.

      Looking at your figures, I would suggest that the distance is more than a kilometre.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      cjenks22's Avatar
      cjenks22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2017
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Internet , Fifa 17 issues

      Thanks guys for your input, so if i was to call sky would they be able to put me on a lower ping profile? Also i am interested in changing my faceplate , would you guys point me in the right direction ?

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,061
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,205 Times in 2,074 Posts

      Re: New Internet , Fifa 17 issues

      Such changes to your profile are only available with Sky Broadband Pro. There are other benefits with the Pro products too, but the do cost a little extra each month.

      To be fair though, reducing the ping sounds like a great option for gamers, but I believe that a Fibre connection would be the better option. You'd get a better ping with Fibre than with ADSL2+.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      cjenks22's Avatar
      cjenks22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2017
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Internet , Fifa 17 issues

      Will i need a dish for fibre , will it be self install or will it require an engineer.

      Is broadband pro available for unlimited broadband?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION