Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Using Own OpenWrt router

    This is a discussion on Using Own OpenWrt router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, I am trying to setup BT Home Hub 5a (OpenWRT) to work with sky broadband. Can someone help ...

    1. #1
      alag20's Avatar
      alag20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Bt Home Hub 5
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2016
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Using Own OpenWrt router

      Hi Guys,
      I am trying to setup BT Home Hub 5a (OpenWRT) to work with sky broadband. Can someone help me?

      I have extracted username and password and tried different configurations but no joy


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      gmangt4's Avatar
      gmangt4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Jun 2016
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Using Own OpenWrt router

      I use these details when setting up a router for Sky

      Username: install@o2broadband.co.uk
      Password: install
      Connection Type: PPPoA
      VPI: 0
      VCI: 38
      MTU:1500

    4. #3
      alag20's Avatar
      alag20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Bt Home Hub 5
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2016
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using Own OpenWrt router

      Quote Originally Posted by gmangt4 View Post
      I use these details when setting up a router for Sky

      Username: install@o2broadband.co.uk
      Password: install
      Connection Type: PPPoA
      VPI: 0
      VCI: 38
      MTU:1500
      I have already tried this. I have also tried by using Sky's router username password via wireshark but all to no luck. Where in OpenWrt are you adding these? Can you share screenshots?

    5. #4
      alag20's Avatar
      alag20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Bt Home Hub 5
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2016
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using Own OpenWrt router

      Quote Originally Posted by gmangt4 View Post
      I use these details when setting up a router for Sky

      Username: install@o2broadband.co.uk
      Password: install
      Connection Type: PPPoA
      VPI: 0
      VCI: 38
      MTU:1500
      I tried those but to no luck. I am guessing I am possibly using the wrong interface in openwrt.

      Any users of openwrt here?

    6. #5
      gmangt4's Avatar
      gmangt4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Jun 2016
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Using Own OpenWrt router

      I don't use OpenWRT, I just put them in the standard firmware login details

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Using Own OpenWrt router

      Are you sure the HH5 can be used with a non-BT ISP? I know it can be used with BT based providers, like Plusnet, but I am not sure about Sky or Talktalk who are not BT supported.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION