Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Slow processing/receiving broadband :(

    This is a discussion on Slow processing/receiving broadband :( within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello I need help. On the website 192.168.1.1 my router is showing that I receiving 2500 kb/s. But when I ...

    1. #1
      Lanfeve's Avatar
      Lanfeve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: nothing
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow processing/receiving broadband :(

      Hello I need help. On the website 192.168.1.1 my router is showing that I receiving 2500 kb/s. But when I downloading anything it goes by 240 kb/s. It doesn't matter if I do it directly by ethernet cable or by wifi. The engineer was today to check the phone socket and there was no interference. Do you have any advice?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,116
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,640 Times in 1,601 Posts

      Re: Slow processing/receiving broadband :(

      Post your stats from the master socket.

      How to get your Sky Router statistics

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      Have you changed the IP address of your router from 192.168.0.1?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Lanfeve's Avatar
      Lanfeve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: nothing
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow processing/receiving broadband :(

      Sky router statistics:

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 96:02:20
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1782661 2593405 0 0 0 26:06:10
      LAN Up 5827190 3778981 0 2 2 96:02:20
      WLAN Up 6636728 4544934 0 1 2 96:02:20

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2527 kbps 589 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 dB 31.5 dB
      Noise Margin 11.9 dB 16.16 dB



      I have checked the ADSL in the master test socket. As well engineer did it.

      I don't think that I have changed the IP address on my router. Could you please tell me which address should be typed in?

      Thank you

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,116
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,640 Times in 1,601 Posts

      Re: Slow processing/receiving broadband :(

      Your stats show you are not receiving as high a sync as you should, both up and down. There could be a variety reasons for this. The first is that you have had a fault on your line and DLM has reduced your speed to compensate. The second is that you have something plugged into the line which is not filtered. Everything plugged into your phone line must run through a filter, this includes Sky boxes. Sky boxes can cause problems even when running through a filter. If you have one plugged in, unplug it. Sky will not care provided you do not have multi screen.

      My advice would be to power cycle your router, ie, switch off the power for a couple of minutes then switch on again. Check your stats to see if there is any improvement. If there is no improvement, phone Sky and ask them to re-profile your line as DLM has left it with a lower speed than it should be.

      The default address of Sky routers is 192.168.0.1, you say in your first post you used a different address. Maybe it was a typo?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Lanfeve's Avatar
      Lanfeve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: nothing
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow processing/receiving broadband :(

      I have called Sky today, they haved re-profile m line but nothing has changed.

      On my microfilter there's only phone and sky router. I don't have Sky TV. I also tried every version, with no phone, test socket etc. The microfilter is from Sky as well the rest of the equipment.

      The default address of Sky routers is 192.168.0.1, it was a typo from my side.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,116
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,640 Times in 1,601 Posts

      Re: Slow processing/receiving broadband :(

      Are your stats the same? Possibly they have re-started DLM on your line which could take a few days to bring up the speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Lanfeve's Avatar
      Lanfeve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: nothing
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow processing/receiving broadband :(

      Router Statistics


      System Up Time: 382:39:16
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2677572 4280108 0 126888 555581 24:33:31
      LAN Up 26574053 16679366 0 2887 5969 382:39:16
      WLAN Up 20167044 13656863 0 908839 151333 382:38:42

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2559 kbps 231 kbps
      Line Attenuation 62.0 dB 37.5 dB
      Noise Margin 5.3 dB 6.6 dB




      That's my statistics after 5 days. They are diffrent, but when I'm downloading anything, my speed is still the same :/

      Any recommendation what should I do next?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,116
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,640 Times in 1,601 Posts

      Re: Slow processing/receiving broadband :(

      That's not good. It looks like you are a long way from the exchange with a poor line. The only way you are going to see much more speed is by swapping to fibre, if it is available to you.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Lanfeve's Avatar
      Lanfeve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: nothing
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow processing/receiving broadband :(

      Yes, they said that fibre is available for me. But how can I have guarantee that when I change to fibre, my actual speed will increase? Because now when I calling them to report the slow download speed they say that in their system it's showing 2550 kb/s so "their hands are clean" and if I would like to cancel the agrement then I would have to pay penalty :/.

      So: I change to fibre, nothing could change and I will be paying more for 1 time activation fee and for monthly subscription :/

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,116
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,640 Times in 1,601 Posts

      Re: Slow processing/receiving broadband :(

      With fibre you are guaranteed a much better speed. The speed you get depends on how far you are from the cabinet, not the exchange. According to your stats you are receiving 2550kbps, which allowing for overheads should give you a download speed of of about 280KBps.

      Go here https://www.btwholesale.com/includes/adsl/main.html and select the Address Checker option and fill in the details. This will give you your Fibre speed. The actual speed you will get is likely to be between the high and low range.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION