Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Isitme

    Sky remotely rebooting routers

    This is a discussion on Sky remotely rebooting routers within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; For some reason around 0130 this morning my Sky Q Hub decided to restart itself, and I'm not sure why. ...

    1. #1
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Angry Sky remotely rebooting routers

      For some reason around 0130 this morning my Sky Q Hub decided to restart itself, and I'm not sure why.

      I'm a little unhappy as I sim race online, and I was driving with 12 hours into a 24 hour endurance race completed when it suddenly dropped and restarted, which has also screwed my other team mates over. It's the second time the connection dropped in 24 hours, having also gone down around 10am without a reboot.

      Here's the log :
      Jan 1 00:00:08 syslog: BusyBox v1.17.2
      Jan 1 00:00:08 syslog: plc0 (Int switch port: 4) (Logical Port: 4) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      Jan 1 00:00:08 syslog: [ 6.897000] eth1 (Int switch port: 6) (Logical Port: 6) Link UP 1000 mbps full duplex
      Jan 1 00:00:08 syslog: [ 8.941000] eth1 (Int switch port: 6) (Logical Port: 6) Link DOWN.
      Jan 1 00:00:13 syslog: [ 13.033000] eth1 (Int switch port: 6) (Logical Port: 6) Link UP 1000 mbps full duplex
      Jan 1 00:00:20 syslog: [ 20.129000] Line 0: xDSL G.994 training
      Jan 1 00:00:24 syslog: [ 24.133000] Line 0: ADSL link down
      Jan 1 00:00:26 syslog: [ 26.237000] eth1 (Int switch port: 6) (Logical Port: 6) Link DOWN.
      Jan 1 00:00:30 syslog: [ 30.270000] eth1 (Int switch port: 6) (Logical Port: 6) Link UP 1000 mbps full duplex
      Jan 1 00:00:49 syslog: sky dhcpc client (v0.0.1) started
      Jan 1 00:00:51 syslog: [ 51.145000] Line 0: xDSL G.994 training
      Jan 1 00:01:06 syslog: [ 66.149000] Line 0: VDSL G.993 started
      Jan 1 00:01:18 syslog: [ 78.396000] Line 0: VDSL2 link up, Bearer 0, us=9999, ds=40000
      Jan 1 00:01:18 syslog: [ 78.401000] Line 0: VDSL2 link up, Bearer 1, us=0, ds=0
      Jan 1 00:01:56 syslog: ptm0.1 - WAN link UP.
      Jan 1 00:01:56 syslog: Received valid DHCP lease from server. Connection UP.
      Jan 1 00:01:56 syslog: Connection Up. SNO/MAC/IP/SWVER: [<redacted>/<redacted>/<redacted>/1.9f.1769.R]
      Jan 1 00:01:57 syslog: Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Jan 1 00:01:57 syslog: Time has been set from ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Aug 7 01:37:48 syslog: Received NTP Sync Reply from ntp1.isp.sky.com

      Any ideas before I phone Sky and express my displeasure?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky remotely rebooting routers

      When the connection drops it should not reboot the router, unless it is also updating the firmware. Did your firmware change?

      You can express your annoyance to Sky, but I doubt if it will do much good unless it is a regular occurrence, which could indicate a line fault.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky remotely rebooting routers

      Firmware version in the log excerpt above. The Q hub isn't listed on their firmware help page, so I couldn't check it. I've got a hunch they did as the existing log got wiped out.

    5. #4
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Huawei HG612
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,283
      Thanks
      346
      Thanked 154 Times in 148 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky remotely rebooting routers

      Look here for firmware versions for all Sky routers: Sky Router Firmware

      1.9f.1769.R looks to be even newer than the version rolling out!

      Q1: Are you sure that's correct?
      Q2: Any idea what it was *before* each of the two previous reboots?
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by Sky Broadband since 2007 ++

    6. #5
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky remotely rebooting routers

      A1: Yes. Here's a screen grab.


      A2: Sorry, don't know. If I thought it was firmware I'd have kept track of the version numbers.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to MagicBoy For This Useful Post:

      speedyrite (08-08-16)

    8. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky remotely rebooting routers

      I think that's the answer. Your firmware has been updated overnight. Sky usually do this in the early hours when there is less chance of the connection being used. It's just unfortunate that you were using the connection at the time. The previous drop at 10am would be a simple temporary disconnection which would not cause a reboot..

      Maybe other users of your router could have a look and see if their FW has been updated?
      speedyrite likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #7
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky remotely rebooting routers

      My Q Hub (or Hub 3.0 as Sky insisted on calling it as I don't have Sky Q) updated last week to the 1769 firmware; so it looks like they're being done in batches.
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Mystic Eddy For This Useful Post:

      speedyrite (08-08-16)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION