Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Re: How to connect two Routers together

    This is a discussion on Re: How to connect two Routers together within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, this is my first post, I am using a Sky SR102 as main router and works ok, I have ...

    1. #1
      Scubamark147's Avatar
      Scubamark147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01983
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2016
      Location
      Isle of Wight
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      Hello, this is my first post, I am using a Sky SR102 as main router and works ok, I have a remote area with poor wifi signal and have used a second SR102 connected by cat5 cable. I have disabled DHCP and set ip to 168.192.0.100 on it, my iphone and smart TV work ok on both hubs but ipad has no internet access on second hub but works ok on the first, any ideas? Thanks.
      Last edited by Scubamark147; 17-07-16 at 08:39 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,075
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,638 Times in 1,599 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      set ip to 168.192.0.100 on it
      I take it this is a miss-type? If not reverse the first and second octets.

      Have a look at the PDF here- How to connect two Routers together and check you are properly set up.

      Are you using different channels on the routers?

      On the face of it, if you are able to connect with your phone and TV, then it suggests the iPad is not finding the router. I would rcommend you install a network analyser to check what is happening. https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/netw...562315041?mt=8

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Scubamark147's Avatar
      Scubamark147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01983
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2016
      Location
      Isle of Wight
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      Hi, thanks for suggestions, was miss type ip is 192.168.0.100 both routers are on different channels. on the ipad if you search for networks it finds new network, enter password and connects to wifi and displays wifi symbol but there's no internet access. I will try the apple net analyser. do you think the Sky sb601 wireless booster might be better that a second router?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,075
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,638 Times in 1,599 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      I don't think the booster would be much good. For one thing they nearly always reduce the speed available.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Scubamark147's Avatar
      Scubamark147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01983
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2016
      Location
      Isle of Wight
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      Ok I will try the analyser. Thanks.

    7. #6
      Scubamark147's Avatar
      Scubamark147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01983
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2016
      Location
      Isle of Wight
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      Hi, not had chance to test the analyser yet but just read your pdf on piggybacking a home hub and changing settings on main router, do you think this might solve the problem of no internet on the ipad?
      Last edited by Scubamark147; 23-07-16 at 01:45 PM.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,075
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,638 Times in 1,599 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      If you follow the instructions faithfully and still can't get internet on your iPad, then as I said before, the problem is with the iPad.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Scubamark147 (27-07-16)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION