Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16
    Like Tree2Likes

    Profile change

    This is a discussion on Profile change within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; HI All I've recently moved home and moved from fibre to ADSL2 due to fibre not being available at the ...

    1. #1
      gmangt4's Avatar
      gmangt4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Jun 2016
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Profile change

      HI All
      I've recently moved home and moved from fibre to ADSL2 due to fibre not being available at the new premises.
      I installed the sky hub and got a sync speed op 23mb, at least makes up for no fibre.
      Due to suffering buffer bloat and any uploading bringing my network to a crawl I installed a Draytek 120 modem with an Asus AC68U with merlin firmware to make use of the QOS function.
      Draytek synced much lower at 19mb, still not slow but I put up with it due to the new router QOS working sweet, anyway the Draytek kept dropping connection so I tried putting the AC68U in to the DMZ of the sky hub but that caused issues with NAT on consoles. I have tried the SR101, SR102 and the SkyQ hub.
      So got a netgear router with QOS and bandwidth control, it synced at 21.5mb, so better but not as good as the sky hub.....when messing with QOS and bandwidth control on the netgear it reboots, whereas the Asus don't, this has caused my line profile to go from fastpath with a noise margin of 3db to an interleaved line on a 6.0db noise margin.
      I called sky and they did not know what I was talking about....the supervisor just said I'm lucky to be getting 19mb on a 6 profile and he could not reset my line, he did not understand what I was saying about my profile changing from a 3 to a 6 because of me messing with router, said he had never heard of anything like that before....has anybody any advice on how to get it back or is it just a case of leave it alone and hope it recovers with DLM?
      Thanks in advance to all

      P.S.I know it serves me right


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Profile change

      It sounds like you're just trying to push too much through your connection.

      You've mentioned that you're streaming content, but what are you uploading?

      If you are doing torrents, for example, you need to limit your upload speed with them so that you aren't hogging all the bandwidth.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      gmangt4's Avatar
      gmangt4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Jun 2016
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Profile change

      Hi
      Thanks for the reply, I've re-read my post and can't see me mentioning streaming, but I'm getting old lol

      I'm not doing any torrents its just I can sometimes have to email large attachments from home and when uploading them my network comes to a crawl and I suffer badly from bufferbloat, I was trying to get my Asus set up as the QOS works fine for my needs but the vigor 120 kept dropping connection, I got a netgear but their QOS is not as easy to set up and reboots with every tweak, hence it thought my connection was unstable and moved me to 6 db profile and interleaved, I'm a gamer too lol was just looking for advice hoe to get my 3 db fastpath connection back?

    5. #4
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Profile change

      most of the people in sky are not trained in measuring snr and attenuation any more so not surprised at reply but line shows up in system as unstable they can trigger dlm to reprofile the line again ,ust say you where fixing a wiring issue which caused noise and would like your line reset
      that get someone to do this

    6. #5
      gmangt4's Avatar
      gmangt4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Jun 2016
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Profile change

      Hi
      I tried that and he went to the supervisor, they said that its openreach controlled and they can't do anything....when I had sky BB before the days of fibre being widely available and the guys you got through to knew their stuff and where very helpful....is it a case of keep phoning until I get someone that knows what their doing or am I know stuck on an interleaved 6db profile?

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Profile change

      Sorry gmangt4, I think though that you've more clearly identified the cause of the issue in your second post.

      QoS is not going to resolve this. QoS will simply prioritise traffic from one source over another. However in your case you are uploading a large email attachment. This is the cause of your problem.

      You have a limited upload bandwidth. Purely guessing as you haven't posted the figures, but I suspect that it was around 1.3mb and may now be down to about 1.1mb.

      What I would suggest is for you to use a different method to share your large file. As an example you could upload the file in a more controlled manner using a cloud server. The share the public link to the file in the email.

      The recipient can then simply download the file at their leisure and notify you when this has been completed.

      I mostly use Dropbox and it does allow me to limit the upload speed. I'm not sure about all the other cloud services.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      gmangt4's Avatar
      gmangt4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Jun 2016
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Profile change

      Hi

      Sorry it was cryptic lol

      I usually upload to my google drive, using the bandwidth control part of the Asus QOS works perfect, I limit the upload to 1mb and when uploading my ping hardly changes and my network does not slow down but the vigor 120 kept dropping connection.

      On the netgear I use the bandwidth control part of the QOS and again limit the upload to 1mb and the ping goes from to 20ms ish to 80ms ish, which is fine, with the sky hubs my ping goes out to 3000+ms when uploading, making my network almost unuseable during upload.

      I would like to use my Asus as I want to use some of its extra features, the netgear router is an old one I have thats not gigabit, not AC wireless and doesn't have the features I want to use lol

      I will continue to use the netgear at the moment but I still don't know how to get my profile reset.

      cheers

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Profile change

      What is happening is that when you download something, even a web page, a 'handshaking' signal is sent on the upload side. By hogging all the bandwidth for your uploads you're leaving nothing to spare for this.

      I found some time back that I needed to restrict my torrents to around 600kbps on a 1mb connection. You may wish to adopt a similar approach.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      gmangt4's Avatar
      gmangt4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Jun 2016
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Profile change

      Hi
      Thanks for your input, but I do understand how it works, but its not what I'm asking....I'm asking how to get my profile reset the rest I posted is just the relevant waffle to how my connection was seen as unstable and the noise margin increased.
      So, how do I get back to a fastpath 3.0db connection? lol

      - - - Updated - - -

      here is my stats from the netgear router
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 19951 kbps 1276 kbps
      Line Attenuation 14.5 db 7.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.2 db 8.0 db

    11. #10
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Profile change

      sky control dlm for non fibre ie bb unlimited bt control dlm for fibre/connect package

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION