Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    DSLAM Help

    This is a discussion on DSLAM Help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Seems a few people here are being informed by Sky that issues they are experiencing are ' DSLAM Problems'. I ...

    1. #1
      Anon's Avatar
      Anon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DSLAM Help

      Seems a few people here are being informed by Sky that issues they are experiencing are 'DSLAM Problems'.

      I work with the DSLAM's that Sky use on a daily basis, so thought I would register here to explain and help to understand what is going on.

      I'll endevour to answer any questions you might have, so fire away.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi,

      I've been trying to dig up some information on this very subject. Do you know what DSLAMS are in use? I believe it's something in the Lucent Stinger range but that came from an old financial report.

    4. #3
      Anon's Avatar
      Anon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Easynet/Sky use the Lucent Stinger FS+ Chassis, with either an IP2000 or an IP2100 controller card and a combination of AP72 (ADSL G.DMT) and A2P72 (ADSL2+) line cards.

      As the majority of the DSLAM's used for Sky customers are recently installed, most of you will be on an IP2100 with the ADSL2+ cards.

    5. #4
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks, that'll answer a lot of questions going through my mind.

      I don't know if you've seen it but, there's a thread on the techies bit of the board about this kind of thing.

    6. #5
      Anon's Avatar
      Anon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I'm surprised you didn't respond with an 'Eh'
      That wouldn't mean an awful lot to anyone who doesn't know the Lucent product line.

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Anon

      Eh!

      LOL
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Anon View Post
      I'm surprised you didn't respond with an 'Eh'
      That wouldn't mean an awful lot to anyone who doesn't know the Lucent product line.
      I learned a lot about DSL, unbundling and Lucent DSLAMs over the weekend. I've already read the Lucent product brochures for most of the stinger line.

      So, do you have access to info about when exchanges are due to have broken cards replaced? If so when is Gedling (EMGDDLI) due?

    9. #8
      Anon's Avatar
      Anon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      If a line card is proved faulty, it's usually replaced that night, so with regards to your problem it's unlikely that it really is a broken card. When first or second line state that a problem is a DSLAM fault, they actually mean a fault after the BT MDF, but before the access switch, which could include the DSLAM. If you've had a fault ongoing for so long, then it's probably going to be an issue with either the permanent wiring, or a fault on the passive splitter before the DSLAM.

    10. #9
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Anon View Post
      If a line card is proved faulty, it's usually replaced that night, so with regards to your problem it's unlikely that it really is a broken card. When first or second line state that a problem is a DSLAM fault, they actually mean a fault after the BT MDF, but before the access switch, which could include the DSLAM. If you've had a fault ongoing for so long, then it's probably going to be an issue with either the permanent wiring, or a fault on the passive splitter before the DSLAM.
      Interesting. Tier 3 also said it's a DSLAM card.

      I don't actually believe anything was changed when they said they'd unbundled me. I could still connect to my old ISP until they disabled my account, which to me implies that my line isn't going through a splitter at all. They "promised" that Tier 3 would get back to me tonight or tomorrow with more info. I look forward to grilling them IF they phone me.

    11. #10
      Anon's Avatar
      Anon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      If you could connect to your old provider, then there is no chance that you are physically connected (jumpered) to the Sky DSLAM.
      This would leave me to believe that a problem was identified on the permanent wiring (maybe the tie pair between MDF and HDF) and as such BT haven't bothered shifting your jumper cable onto the LLU block yet.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION