Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Activated and connected! Few qs

    This is a discussion on Activated and connected! Few qs within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, great website gave me far more infomation than Sky TS Had to wait 6 days to be connected ...

    1. #1
      JiM_OD's Avatar
      JiM_OD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upminster
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Activated and connected! Few qs

      Hi guys, great website gave me far more infomation than Sky TS

      Had to wait 6 days to be connected but im glad its all done now.
      Have just done a couple of speed tests, the results are pretty poor both around the 800kbs. I have the mid package so up to 8mb... my connection details are :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20.0 db 14.0 db
      Noise Margin 16.7 db 14.0 d

      Also around 896 metres from my Exchange and running a wireless setup with just one PC.

      I would like to know if my connection details are ok, and if anyone knows why the low download speeds at non peak times (ie now)

      This isnt a rant as im very happy paying 5 a month for min 500kbs as i think its still a great deal.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      your downloading at arounnd 800? if so thats around what you should be getting with 8mb, you have fantastic stats so feel good

    4. #3
      JiM_OD's Avatar
      JiM_OD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upminster
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Im getting around 800kbs which is 0.8mb, hmm if my stats are fantastic i wonder what the problem is hehe
      Last edited by Wheelie; 13-11-06 at 09:47 AM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @Use

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      dont get KB and kB confused! 0.8Mb is fine!

    6. #5
      JiM_OD's Avatar
      JiM_OD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upminster
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      The speed result just now shows :
      Speed Test Results
      Downstream 580.6 Kbps ( = 0.6 Mbps )
      Upstream 641.6 Kbps ( = 0.6 Mbps )

      So thats not good is it?

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      oh right.. your upload is fine"! but that download is ?????

      you kinda confused me & theg33k at the start!

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      try downloading this file.
      ftp://ftp.mirror.ac.uk/edunfs/mirror...4-bootonly.iso

      25MB file




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      JiM_OD's Avatar
      JiM_OD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upminster
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      oh right.. your upload is fine"! but that download is ?????

      you kinda confused me & theg33k at the start!
      Sorry just reread my post, the connection stats are from the router itself.
      Yes upload is very good for ADSL, just concerned about the download rate, have reset the router but still no good. Any suggestions mate?

    10. #9
      JiM_OD's Avatar
      JiM_OD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upminster
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      try downloading this file.
      ftp://ftp.mirror.ac.uk/edunfs/mirror...4-bootonly.iso

      25MB file
      Just downloaded, speeds started around 220 kBs then dropped to around 170 kBs

    11. #10
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Jim

      Try this TCPOptimizer and see if it helps.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION