Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Switching to Sky...

    This is a discussion on Switching to Sky... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Kay There have been some reports of people been connected before the due date, the only way to know is ...

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Kay

      There have been some reports of people been connected before the due date, the only way to know is to try it every day until you get the magical green i light and it connects




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I doubt I'll be connected a week early! (or is there an instance of that?) may start trying to connect in a few days, what do you think, is worth the hassle of switching routers/ unplugging and replugging routers, when it's not that probably.

      Thinking about it, i'm curious, may try and connect later tonight when i'm bored.

      Ta
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 16-11-06 at 04:45 PM. Reason: removed quoted preceeding post ;-)

    4. #13
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Very unlikely a WEEK early, However mine went on 2days before it was supposed too!

    5. #14
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Don't mean to be pushy but could someone answer my previous question:

      Rang sky, said I would be activated 23rd. I've just checked my BT landline orders online:

      One is for the 23rd of Nov, for providing LLU, guess thats sky.

      One is for the 28th of Nov, for ceasing BT IPstreamMAX, guess thats plusnet conection ceasing.

      Won't I have to wait til 28th til sky works? because there will be 2 ISP's on my line then?

      I'm probably wrong

      Thanks
      Can you have ISP's on one line?

    6. #15
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      In laymans terms, no and yes

      The info you have posted means exactly what it says, your LLU will be done on 23rd and they will cease your old one on the 28th.

      This is quite normal




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #16
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Usually they just place a cease then the new ISP takes over? Fortunately I decided to cancel with our previous ISP and reoorder with Sky?

      Sorry couldnt be of more help!

    8. #17
      prolink's Avatar
      prolink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SKY+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Kay

      There have been some reports of people been connected before the due date, the only way to know is to try it every day until you get the magical green i light and it connects
      Sorry to jump in your thread kaybing but just want to ask about the i light on the router.
      I've just received mine today and the line switch is supposed to be the 22nd. I've just plugged the router in and i get the green i light but cant display any pages etc. Will i be getting the green (i) light because of my current ADSL with Zen?
      Cheers

    9. #18
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      @ProLink when I joined Sky I never migrated just cancelled with previous ISP and then re-ordered with Sky?

      My "i" light was always on though I could only browse 2days before activation date?

    10. #19
      paddy&max's Avatar
      paddy&max is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i hope all goes well for you but i have my dowts
      you wont get any quicker than what you all ready have most Bt lines are only capable of average of 5 meg plus depends on your distance from exchange. sky pulled there max deal up to 16 meg because most exchanges arent geared for it yet
      i give up in the end from sky no connection after 8 weeks was just a bit much
      after i supplied mac code keep ring bt wholesale to check on your line progress.
      Good Luck

    11. #20
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just wired up my router, the 'i' came on, but I couldn't browse. Guess I'm not activated yet, although it picked up my plsunet connection (checked stats), don't think it used it though, looked in the log, it said CHAP thingy failed and stuff like that.

      Quite a good modem for non-IT people, no password/username to fill out, just plug and play basically.

      I'll try again in a couple of days.

      (One strange thing, the ethernet cable that came with the sky one doesn't work with the ethernet modem i'm using currently :S)

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION