Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    ASUS AC87U - Netgear ADSL

    This is a discussion on ASUS AC87U - Netgear ADSL within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Evening, hoping someone can put me out of my misery. I've been searching the forums for hours trying to find ...

    1. #1
      danr1's Avatar
      danr1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      ASUS AC87U - Netgear ADSL

      Evening, hoping someone can put me out of my misery. I've been searching the forums for hours trying to find a solution.

      My current setup is Sky Broadband Unlimited ADSL, which I've been connecting to using a (non Sky branded) Netgear DG834Gv2 for well over 5 years and I have my login credentials for Sky. I recently bought an ASUS RT-AC87U, in order to shift files around the house quicker (NAS to TVs etc.).

      I was hoping to put the Netgear into modem only mode, and then just connect the ASUS for all of my routing/firewall needs. However, after lots of head scratching, I'm well and truly stuck!

      When I connect to the ASUS network, I cannot access the internet (and the ASUS GUI says that there is no connection), even though the netgear internet connection LED is green.

      I may be doing something completely stupid, but most of the threads I look at are for fibre connection issues rather than ADSL.

      Any help gratefully received!....


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: ASUS AC87U - Netgear ADSL

      There are 2 main methods you can use, the first requires connection through an ethernet port and the second through the EWAN.

      1 How to connect two Routers together

      2 Using the DLink DIR613.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      danr1's Avatar
      danr1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: ASUS AC87U - Netgear ADSL

      Thanks for the reply.

      Am I correct in thinking that both of those methods don't utilise the modem only function of the Netgear?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: ASUS AC87U - Netgear ADSL

      Yes, the wireless and DHCP can be disabled using (2) as it creates a different network. Using method (1) the HCP on the Netgear continues to be used, but the wireless can be disabled.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      danr1's Avatar
      danr1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: ASUS AC87U - Netgear ADSL

      Would there be any preference over one method or the other?
      Thanks again

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: ASUS AC87U - Netgear ADSL

      If you want to keep things simple then (1) is probably the best bet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      danr1's Avatar
      danr1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: ASUS AC87U - Netgear ADSL

      Apologies for another question. Am I losing some of the more advanced features of the ASUS (firewall etc.) by connecting via method 1?

    9. #8
      LeeH1978's Avatar
      LeeH1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Barrow Upon Humber
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      132
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      ASUS AC87U - Netgear ADSL

      Cannot you just use a simple modem?

    10. #9
      danr1's Avatar
      danr1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: ASUS AC87U - Netgear ADSL

      I was under the impression that most modems would not play nicely with Sky BB? If I can use a standard modem, is there a recommendation?

    11. #10
      LeeH1978's Avatar
      LeeH1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Barrow Upon Humber
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      132
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: ASUS AC87U - Netgear ADSL

      I used a Vigor with a Buffalo Air Station when I had ADSL.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION