Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    help broadband keeps cutting out

    This is a discussion on help broadband keeps cutting out within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; the problem is I've called sky and they say there's nothing they can do the connection keeps dropping and they ...

    1. #1
      Steele11's Avatar
      Steele11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: sky Q hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      49
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      1

      help broadband keeps cutting out

      the problem is I've called sky and they say there's nothing they can do the connection keeps dropping and they told me today that the connecting this up for 24 hours I've just login to the hub I noticed is that again it does it maybe every three days all they've asked me to do is change the wireless signal what's going on you asked me to change to channel 6 11 13 all of my devices see hub just a :-) keeps going disconnects on and then straight after reconnecting on the oranges flashing smiley
      Only said that the connection has been up for 24 hours before that he said disconnected five times

      he just said there is no available date for fibre broadband my area and wish there was something else you could do just kept talking about TV I don't know what to do just ask from my Mac code or ?
      I'm using the master socket no extensions mk2 plate
      Router Statistics



      System Up Time: 39:24:56
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 17891 19415 0 1936 1581 00:51:47
      LAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN Up 36229296 20927264 0 443525 28660 06:02:09

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4223 kbps 799 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 dB 34.3 dB
      Noise Margin 6.1 dB 6.6 dB


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: help broadband keeps cutting out

      Hello Steele11, sorry for the delayed response. I suspect everyone's busy reading up on Sky Q at the moment.

      It sounds like there is an issue with either the telephone wiring or the kit in the exchange. Changing the WiFi channel is not going to help you. The stats which you have posted show that your router reconnected to the Internet about 52 mins before you took them, but the router has been up for nearly 40 hours. It looks like the WiFi was reset between these times, suggest that's when you last changed the WiFi channel manually.

      The disconnections should be showing up on Sky's screens.

      These days if you want to moe to a new provider you no longer need a Mac code. You just set up with the new provider.

      Personally I'd plug a microfilter into the Test Socket and see if that resolves the issue first. If the issue is still present then I'd be back on the phone to Sky and politely run through things with them. If you just get the run-around then see if you can speak to someone more senior.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Steele11 (31-01-16)

    5. #3
      Steele11's Avatar
      Steele11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: sky Q hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      49
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: help broadband keeps cutting out

      So number one I'm using the master socket no extensions ues to MK2 to get mk3 available to try but I remember before Christmas I was in the master socket back on the phone to sky used to dangling microfilter and it disconnected the notes are on the system so she said he said I will get you to go into the master socket I can see that you have been disconnected and you had only 24 hour line test but unfortunately I can't see the results of that test now but I think you're just gonna have to put up with it just kept talking about Game of Thrones stuff like that I have just seen hung up the phone and he called me back LOL and just said sorry I don't know what's going on this is crazy thanks scbbie taking the time to help me out


      its like every three days disconnection

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: help broadband keeps cutting out

      You mention that the disconnection occurs every three days.

      Is there a more regular pattern than this which you may have identified?

      Has a new router been offered? (just in case it is playing up)

      Don't go and change the faceplate to a Mk3. IF the issue repeated itself with the microfilter, then it is somewhere between the test socket and the exchange. This is something that BTO should fix.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #5
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: help broadband keeps cutting out

      looks like some noise building up on your line as looks like dlm has moved up snr on up/downstream and capped download and upload sometimes still wouldn't cause constant drop-outs but can build up to point where line will drop or router will try to re-sync , if you check stats are your snr staying stable or moving about any more than 0.5 is significant amount , thing to check if telephone causing issue especially cordless phone adsl cable also problem being most of the agents dont really check this if line tests passing and not seeing alot of drop-outs if nothing happening with first line support needs to be escalated

    8. #6
      Steele11's Avatar
      Steele11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: sky Q hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      49
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: help broadband keeps cutting out

      So this morning My skybox lost its Wi-Fi code for some strange reason it change to channel 998 so I made an enquiry call and then got past us to get past to support for broadband he said the line was fine but he will check in the next five days and make sure that it stays up I have not call back he's going to keep an eye on my it you said it's a strange one sometimes it goes off and sometimes it stays up for a long time days as changing the Wi-Fi channel and says I think it could be that I said no it's not so he said he'll keep an eye out on the situation I forgot to say that they replaced the sky hub buy it and i got a new bt phone as well
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 108:41:08
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3512409 6564892 0 0 0 10:17:05
      LAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN Up 49585750 28989723 0 1 1 75:18:21

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4319 kbps 799 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 dB 34.3 dB
      Noise Margin 4.9 dB 6.6 dB

    9. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: help broadband keeps cutting out

      The Sky+ HD issue is something different. I've had a similar thing with my own and raised this. Although I haven't had a response yet, so I don't know why our boxes have been reset, it won't be related to your connection.

      Interestingly your connection speed has been improved by that last reset. This suggests to me that DLM might be working to improve your connection speed.

      Can you confirm, by looking at the time your router reconnected on the WAN connection, what time the connection was reset please?

      If it is somewhere between 1-3am then it points squarely at DLM doing its job.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #8
      Steele11's Avatar
      Steele11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: sky Q hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      49
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: help broadband keeps cutting out

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      The Sky+ HD issue is something different. I've had a similar thing with my own and raised this. Although I haven't had a response yet, so I don't know why our boxes have been reset, it won't be related to your connection.

      Interestingly your connection speed has been improved by that last reset. This suggests to me that DLM might be working to improve your connection speed.

      Can you confirm, by looking at the time your router reconnected on the WAN connection, what time the connection was reset please?

      If it is somewhere between 1-3am then it points squarely at DLM doing its job.



      it was the line test time about 11 am i call up

    11. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: help broadband keeps cutting out

      For the moment I am thinking then that DLM is working to improve your connection speed.

      If you are happy to monitor things I would suggest that you check each morning and post the stats here so that we can both see what is happening. Also if the speed does drop we can see this more clearly.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Steele11 (02-02-16)

    13. #10
      Steele11's Avatar
      Steele11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: sky Q hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      49
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: help broadband keeps cutting out

      it just went off at 7;17 pm //// 2fed 16

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 131:18:33
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 29409 39207 0 77616 3132000 00:03:51
      LAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN Up 57414746 33646793 0 3523568 152864 97:55:46

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3972 kbps 799 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 dB 34.3 dB
      Noise Margin 6.7 dB 6.6 dB

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION