Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky hub SR101 home page & wireless problem

    This is a discussion on Sky hub SR101 home page & wireless problem within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have a sky hub SR101. Twice, now, I have had to revert to factory defaults following power off/on. Yesterday, ...

    1. #1
      sherlok1948's Avatar
      sherlok1948 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Sky hub SR101 home page & wireless problem

      I have a sky hub SR101. Twice, now, I have had to revert to factory defaults following power off/on.

      Yesterday, we had a new consumer unit fitted so the power was off for several hours then several power cycles while the circuits were tested. Following this, the hub allowed me to browse the Internet OK from a wired computer however I could not access the hub's home page (192.168.0.1 - although I could ping it OK), there were no wireless connections and the wireless LED on the hub was not lit. Pressing the rest button at the back of the hub to reboot had no effect so there was no option but to hold in the reset button to install factory defaults then to re-enter the wireless info, etc. again.

      Having had to do this twice, now, I find this very annoying.

      Has anyone else had a similar problem and is there a fix?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Sky hub SR101 home page & wireless problem

      Yesterday, we had a new consumer unit fitted so the power was off for several hours then several power cycles while the circuits were tested.
      You should really have powered off the Hub while switching the power off and on over a short period. If you don't DLM is liable to kick in and reduce your speed. You will get it back, but it can take quite a few days to return to normal.

      I could not access the hub's home page (192.168.0.1
      When this happens the first thing to do is try another browser.
      there were no wireless connections and the wireless LED on the hub was not lit.
      Its very unusual for the wireless to be effected by powering off and on. Did it return after you reset the router?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      sherlok1948's Avatar
      sherlok1948 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky hub SR101 home page & wireless problem

      Thanks for the reply.

      Pressing the reset button at the back of the hub to reboot had no effect so there was no option but to hold in the reset button to install factory defaults then to re-enter the wireless info, etc. again. All was then well.

    5. #4
      uclown2002's Avatar
      uclown2002 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Birstwith
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Harrogate
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky hub SR101 home page & wireless problem

      You could have unplugged it from mains, rather than resorting to factory reset.

    6. #5
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      404
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 39 Times in 37 Posts

      Re: Sky hub SR101 home page & wireless problem

      this is a usual issue that happens when some sort power disruption eg lightning strike , powercut or fuse blowing seen this happen mostly on the 2 new hubs and only way to reset this hold in reset for 10 to 15 secs powering off/on doesn't work

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION