Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    BB stats after line switch.

    This is a discussion on BB stats after line switch. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Around 2 weeks ago switched the line to sky, already have sky BB . There does seem to be a ...

    1. #1
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      287
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      BB stats after line switch.

      Around 2 weeks ago switched the line to sky, already have sky BB. There does seem to be a bit of a noise on the line before dialling but its not affecting the only 2 calls i have made since, or the BB.
      Should i report it as it may be the start of a bigger problem.

      BB stats seem ok?


      Router Statistics
      System Up Time: 2253:31:04
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2207003 2626920 0 1001 431 299:43:58
      LAN Up 23009578 14700258 9 332223 24829 2253:31:04
      WLAN Up 7250387 6672397 0 2852 2794 859:34:59
      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3694 kbps 1005 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.0 dB 35.1 dB
      Noise Margin 10.5 dB 5.5 dB
      Poll Interval:
      Seconds (at least 3s):
      Set Interval Stop
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: BB stats after line switch.

      Your noise margin is a bit high which indicates there may be a problem with your line. If you have noise on the line, get that fixed first, it may be the cause of your problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      287
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BB stats after line switch.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Your noise margin is a bit high which indicates there may be a problem with your line. If you have noise on the line, get that fixed first, it may be the cause of your problem.
      Ok thanks.

      Should i mention its not affecting the calls yet but its just noise on the line before dialling.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,193
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 337 Times in 328 Posts

      Re: BB stats after line switch.

      Dial one to remove the dialling tone then listen to the line. If it is noisy then there is a problem which requires fixing as it will also adversely effect your broadband speed.

    6. #5
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      287
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BB stats after line switch.

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      Dial one to remove the dialling tone then listen to the line. If it is noisy then there is a problem which requires fixing as it will also adversely effect your broadband speed.
      Well the noise goes when i dial 1, just cant believe the dial tone is so loud or different sound from the BT line.

      For the first few days after the line switch the BB stats were line attention down 4.5 kbps and noise margin was 7db down, so
      looking at the above stats now, it has changed. I wonder if the noise margin has been raised by sky to stabalize the line?
      and could that give a loud unusual sounding dial tone.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    7. #6
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,193
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 337 Times in 328 Posts

      Re: BB stats after line switch.

      line attention down 4.5 kbps ??

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: BB stats after line switch.

      Your line may still be undergoing DLM training. Are you seeing resyncs in the early hours?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      287
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BB stats after line switch.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Your line may still be undergoing DLM training. Are you seeing resyncs in the early hours?
      No line training taking place.

      - - - Updated - - -

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      line attention down 4.5 kbps ??
      I mean connection speed down.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    10. #9
      raislander's Avatar
      raislander is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2016
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BB stats after line switch.

      Line Attenuation 56.0 dB 35.1 dB

      That's what is actually concerning on the line. Are you so far from the cabinet?? With that attenuation it will be equivalent to be 4km away from the cabinet. If that's not the case then something in your line is creating that, either the faceplate is faulty or the copper line is faulty.

      Also are you using the microfilters?? some times if you don't use them the attenuation increases.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION