Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Broadband (both wired and wireless) disconnecting

    This is a discussion on Broadband (both wired and wireless) disconnecting within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, Grateful for any help. I've been having problems with my Sky Broadband Unlimited connection over the last 4 ...

    1. #1
      keith_brown's Avatar
      keith_brown is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband (both wired and wireless) disconnecting

      Hi All,

      Grateful for any help.

      I've been having problems with my Sky Broadband Unlimited connection over the last 4 or 5 days.

      All my wireless devices are continually disconnected, on a seemingly random basis. I might see a few hours of uninterrupted service, and then all devices disconnect.

      The power light, wireless light and broadband connection light all remain green.

      I have to reboot to regain service.

      If I connect my laptop via an Ethernet cable during one of these periods, disconnected from the wifi, then I till can't connect, and I see a 'no internet' message.

      I have:

      - replaced the microfilter
      - replaced the cable from the microfilter to the router
      - plugged into the testsocket
      - used a new ethernet

      I've called Sky, but the person I spoke with could only organise a call back from the 'network team' on Wed, i.e in 3 days.

      I have android phones, tablets, windows 10, XP devices all displaying the same symptoms.

      My computers are all running Avast free....I have read this could be an issue?

      Router is the little one which looks like a mini HD box.

      Any other clues?

      Regards,

      Keith.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband (both wired and wireless) disconnecting

      My computers are all running Avast free....I have read this could be an issue?
      There was a problem with the Sagem routers with the latest firmware and Avast. It looks very similar to the Dink shown in your Profile. If you have this router you could try disabling the Home network shield. This is the part that was causing the problem. Alternately, un-install Avast completely and install another AV. AVG does a good job.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      keith_brown's Avatar
      keith_brown is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband (both wired and wireless) disconnecting

      Hi Tom,

      Thanks for the reply.

      I've changed the router in my profile. Having looked at some pictures it's a Sagem 2504n.

      I'll get rid of avast and see if that helps.

      I'll update the thread when I know if it helps.

      Cheers,

      Keith.

    5. #4
      keith_brown's Avatar
      keith_brown is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband (both wired and wireless) disconnecting

      Home again, and have just run the Network Security Scan in Avast 2015. Immediately caused my router to reboot!

      The slight difference to my original symptoms is that this time, the internet light went red for a while, before going back to green.
      In the original post, all lights remained green.
      However, the fact that running a scan reboots the router is a good sign something is wrong, so will uninstall avast and put on something else; we'll see if that stops the intermittent disconnections...

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There was a problem with the Sagem routers with the latest firmware and Avast. It looks very similar to the Dink shown in your Profile. If you have this router you could try disabling the Home network shield. This is the part that was causing the problem. Alternately, un-install Avast completely and install another AV. AVG does a good job.

    6. #5
      keith_brown's Avatar
      keith_brown is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband (both wired and wireless) disconnecting

      I've now rid the house of avast, but it's made no difference at all; awaiting a call back from Sky tonight - we'll see what they say (if indeed they call as promised)....

    7. #6
      MBradshaw's Avatar
      MBradshaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Longton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2015
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Broadband (both wired and wireless) disconnecting

      Had exactly the same problem over the last week or so. Wired and wireless. Had previously been very stable. Running the SR101 (white sky hub). Any updates on this would be welcome.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

    8. #7
      keith_brown's Avatar
      keith_brown is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband (both wired and wireless) disconnecting

      Quote Originally Posted by keith_brown View Post
      I've now rid the house of avast, but it's made no difference at all; awaiting a call back from Sky tonight - we'll see what they say (if indeed they call as promised)....
      And, as I felt would be the case, no call back materialised.

    9. #8
      keith_brown's Avatar
      keith_brown is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband (both wired and wireless) disconnecting

      Quote Originally Posted by keith_brown View Post
      And, as I felt would be the case, no call back materialised.
      So, I called Sky this morning, after my call back failed to materialise.

      The person I spoke with said he could see notes saying the network team had 'altered settings at their end', but couldn't give me further details at to what they had altered.

      Then said if the changes had made no difference (they have not), I'd need a new router at 76 delivered!

      I politely declined. I shall buy a 27 TP Link 8968 on the way home. Assuming I get this working, I shall leave Sky when my contract is up.

      It's only 2 years since I had to buy the current router from Sky after their previous one failed: unhappy that the current one has failed already.

      Cheers

      Keith.

    10. #9
      keith_brown's Avatar
      keith_brown is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband (both wired and wireless) disconnecting

      Quote Originally Posted by keith_brown View Post
      So, I called Sky this morning, after my call back failed to materialise.

      The person I spoke with said he could see notes saying the network team had 'altered settings at their end', but couldn't give me further details at to what they had altered.

      Then said if the changes had made no difference (they have not), I'd need a new router at 76 delivered!

      I politely declined. I shall buy a 27 TP Link 8968 on the way home. Assuming I get this working, I shall leave Sky when my contract is up.

      It's only 2 years since I had to buy the current router from Sky after their previous one failed: unhappy that the current one has failed already.

      Cheers

      Keith.
      So, in a last ditch attempt to obtain joy, I entered an online chat with a sky rep. Told them I was going to plusnet regardless of termination costs. Resulted in a free sky hub, paying only postage. Hopefully this cures my issues.

    11. #10
      MBradshaw's Avatar
      MBradshaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Longton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2015
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Broadband (both wired and wireless) disconnecting

      I have had a long conversation with a Sky representative by phone today. I had already tried his suggestions and the line tests showed all was fine. The conclusion was that it may well be the router, but after that we are at a loss. I have Sky Protect, so have been able to obtain a replacement router under my policy. I will update when I have received it.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION