Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    When does the 3 day wait start?!

    This is a discussion on When does the 3 day wait start?! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I was due to be connected to Sky MAX on the 9th - according to the BT site the LLU ...

    1. #1
      Jez's Avatar
      Jez
      Jez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maidenhead (THM)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      When does the 3 day wait start?!

      I was due to be connected to Sky MAX on the 9th - according to the BT site the LLU order has been completed.

      However, the router isn't connecting to Sky.

      There was a "please allow up to 3 days for connection" message in one of the letters I received from Sky. Is this 3 days for the BT order to complete? Or 3 days after the BT order has completed?

      Thanks in advance,

      Jez


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Cyrus's Avatar
      Cyrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Streetly - CMSTRE
      Broadband ISP: Max, 15.3MB Downstream! B E A Utiful
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Streetly
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      This usually means 3 days after the BT completion. It can be at any point though, some people can be earlier than the specified date.

      I would call them now. Use the free phone number.
      "If you are planning for a year, sow rice;
      if you are planning for a decade, plant trees;
      if you are planning for a lifetime, educate people."

    4. #3
      Jez's Avatar
      Jez
      Jez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maidenhead (THM)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just spent 15 minutes on the phone to (I think) Ireland. Very helpful people, having tried a few things they're "looking into" the problem.

      When I do the Sky Test on the router I get error codes 200 or 300. In the modem status it shows:

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 2271 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 287 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Which looks suspiciously like the results that my Pipex ADSL account gave....

      Jez

    5. #4
      Cyrus's Avatar
      Cyrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Streetly - CMSTRE
      Broadband ISP: Max, 15.3MB Downstream! B E A Utiful
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Streetly
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Right, so you have DSL downstream & upstream, so your line has activation.
      Have you migrated? If so did you get a MAC code?
      "If you are planning for a year, sow rice;
      if you are planning for a decade, plant trees;
      if you are planning for a lifetime, educate people."

    6. #5
      Jez's Avatar
      Jez
      Jez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maidenhead (THM)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Cyrus View Post
      Have you migrated? If so did you get a MAC code?
      Yes to both - migrated (migrating?!) from Pipex. Sky accepted the MAC code. The only order left on my line is a Cease IPSTREAM scheduled for the 14th.

      Jez

    7. #6
      Cyrus's Avatar
      Cyrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Streetly - CMSTRE
      Broadband ISP: Max, 15.3MB Downstream! B E A Utiful
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Streetly
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I think that your problem lies there!
      "If you are planning for a year, sow rice;
      if you are planning for a decade, plant trees;
      if you are planning for a lifetime, educate people."

    8. #7
      Jez's Avatar
      Jez
      Jez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maidenhead (THM)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Cyrus View Post
      I think that your problem lies there!
      So the Sky MAX connection won't actually work until my old service is ceased?

      I hope it all works OK on the day then!

      Jez

    9. #8
      Jez's Avatar
      Jez
      Jez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maidenhead (THM)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Not sure if I understand all the technical side of it, but if (as BT claim) my line has been switched over to Sky's LLU hardware, then shouldn't my Pipex connection have stopped working?

      I get confused so easily....

      Jez

    10. #9
      Jez's Avatar
      Jez
      Jez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maidenhead (THM)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just been on the phone to TS again as they promised a call back this afternoon and nothing happened....!

      Anyway, the guy I spoke to said a fault had been raised with BT and they'd get back to me within 48 hours.

      Having put the phone down, it struck me that if the move to Sky LLU went ahead the other day, are BT still responsible for the fault???

      Jez

    11. #10
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      they would be if its a line issue which will be looked into.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION