Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 33 of 33
    Like Tree1Likes

    Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

    This is a discussion on Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It appears that the developers have pulled 1086 from being updated to any SR102 with an older firmware. I haven't ...

    1. #31
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

      It appears that the developers have pulled 1086 from being updated to any SR102 with an older firmware.

      I haven't had this confirmed, but those who did wind back to the older version haven't reported being put back to 1086 yet.

      As for when 1087 is fully rolled out, currently I have no news on this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Jmste's Avatar
      Jmste is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

      can confirm, i had a new router a few weeks ago with the older firmware, hasnt been updated to 1086 yet

      i had the problem with the connection dropping everyday too, they thought it was the router but it clearly isnt, hopefully 1087 is out soon

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Jmste For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (21-10-15)

    5. #33
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

      Well after 10 dropouts in the space of about an hour, I finally had to bite the bullet to upgrade the router to the previous firmware.... and what a journey that was.

      - Went to hook up the macbook to the router and no ethernet port on the mac book
      - got out an old windows laptop and after 30 mins it still hadn't installed .net framewrok to run the recovery app.
      - brought the mac mini downstairs to hook up to router and got recovery software loaded... but router just wouldn't come back to life. Tried and tried but the router was just borked
      - then tried the bottom port on the router and had another go and voila, it restored it to the old firmware but all settings lost
      - tried to upload my back up of the settings, but it said it was an illegal copy?!!!?
      - fortunately I'd screenshotted all pages of the router settings
      - re-entered all the settings and was back on line, all looking good.....
      - then tried accessing NAS externally and nope, nowt
      - checked NAS and it was saying it could be reached externally
      - rebooted, checked settings, static IPs, rebooted, rebooted rebooted
      - nothing
      - Then decided to google the specif message on the NAS about 'Unable to find public IP address' and when I google that, whilst all other internet sites worked, this google search took me to broadband shield asking to set my parental control.
      - So i set up broadband shield and everything springs to life!!!

      So moral of the story:

      - make manual copies of your router settings
      - use the green bottom port of the hub
      - make sure you re-set up broadband shield

      I need wine!!!!!!!

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION