Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 33
    Like Tree1Likes

    Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

    This is a discussion on Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm also having this issue and an engineer is coming tomorrow. Even when connected to the test socket, I'm still ...

    1. #11
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCEAR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Earby
      Posts
      738
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

      I'm also having this issue and an engineer is coming tomorrow. Even when connected to the test socket, I'm still getting the random disconnects during the day and night.

      Also just ordered a HG612 fibre modem (on a Huawei cab here) from eBay as well to see if it's any better with that if the engineer cannot do anything tomorrow.

      Sky did also mention though that I'm not actually getting the fibre speed I should be (sync around the 60000 - 64000 mark and always have done) and Sky projected speeds are 58000 - 70000 for my line, so I'm at the bottom end and apparently Sky seem to think my line should be capable of faster syncs speeds than I'm currently getting.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Lonewolfers's Avatar
      Lonewolfers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDMAI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2015
      Location
      Maidstone, Kent
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

      Well Sky were REALLY busy last night on the phone which suggests it may be more wide spread, I haven't got to the engineer part yet, I imagine they will come out eventually

    4. #13
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCEAR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Earby
      Posts
      738
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

      Quote Originally Posted by Lonewolfers View Post
      Well Sky were REALLY busy last night on the phone which suggests it may be more wide spread, I haven't got to the engineer part yet, I imagine they will come out eventually
      Have they asked you to do the trouble shooting steps (router factory reset, quiet line test by dialling 17070 using a corded phone and connect router with a filter to test socket) yet? Sky also ran a couple of line tests yesterday and the day before. The line and quiet tests all passed on my line.

    5. #14
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: SKY SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      596
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

      as i've said, also got this issue. I installed the HG612 router I had with the most recent firmware (f/w version B030SP08) and so far its been solid. I notice this has the same DSL firware version as the old SKY firmware, so it could point to the DSL firware version having issues in the 1086 firmware.

      Will see after tonight if it stays solid by tomorrow morning we know it is the router firmware as the sr102 lost sync twice last night nad i installed the hg612 at 10.22pm
      Last edited by Angel_Rex; 22-09-15 at 08:37 PM.

    6. #15
      Lonewolfers's Avatar
      Lonewolfers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDMAI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2015
      Location
      Maidstone, Kent
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

      Have an update with all the tests I have been doing over the week. Sky customer services have still not rung me back to arrange an engineer visit or further troubleshooting, I called them Tuesday 22nd Sept.

      Alot of people have suggested firmware issues, which I have not dismissed but my tests and results are....well...interesting

      Can I add I have a WIRELESS and WIRED connection in my home tests are done over wired as it is more reliable

      So before providing my tests/results I just want to make clear a few things:
      -There has been no wiring or DIY work in my house
      -There has been no wiring or DIY work in my neighbours house
      -There are 3 phone connections in my house, master socket, secondary (broadband connected here) and tertiary (telephone plugged in here) both active connections use SKY filters

      With those three points established lets move onto my tests and results.

      Test 1 - Plug into test socket on master socket, disconnecting all voice connections in house
      Result -
      The internet worked fine with no disconnects over 3 days, I even had a higher UPLOAD speed which went from 8mb to 18mb, conclude what you will, as not had problems with internal wiring for 1 year and half

      Test 2 - Change Sky Filter on second socket (broadband), test socket has now been replaced and closed, voice phone plugged back into 3rd socket in house. Nothing in master socket
      Result - Drop outs still occurring (a couple over 6hrs), clearly not a broken filter, something to do with phone connected?

      Test 3 - Remove voice phone from tertiary connection and just leave in the Sky Router on secondary connection, nothing plugged into master socket
      Result - Drop outs still occurring, didn't happen all day and then occurred at 8:30pm this evening

      Test 4 - Unplugged everything and only plugged Sky router into Master socket (not the test socket as in test 1).
      Result - To be confirmed, but surprisingly my upload speed has dropped even more now down to 5mb from 8mb in secondary socket and 18mb in test socket

      So I will await Sky's call, if it goes over a week I will recall them again, because at the moment I have to take out my home phone to actually get a stable connection. As I have stated before I have had a stable Sky connection for well over a year never any problems (apart from the odd 5min disconnection once in a blue moon). I have done no wiring in my house or DIY or anything that could attribute to the current problem.

      My router stats for connection to the house's Master BT socket are below if anyone is interested:

      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	routerstats2.JPG 
Views:	149 
Size:	44.4 KB 
ID:	5856

    7. #16
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

      looks like test 1 from your results is indicating internal wiring issue although did you use telephone and router in test socket?

    8. #17
      Lonewolfers's Avatar
      Lonewolfers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDMAI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2015
      Location
      Maidstone, Kent
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

      Quote Originally Posted by tenar View Post
      looks like test 1 from your results is indicating internal wiring issue although did you use telephone and router in test socket?
      Just the router in the test socket, I can only plug one device into it, unless I use a splitter and that would just comprise the test.

      If it is internal wiring, why now? Why after nearly 3 years without any issues on BE internet for a year and then Sky for 2 years would the wiring suddenly have a problem?

      It makes no sense, but the tests do prove that somewhat

    9. #18
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

      You clearly have internal wiring issues if you can get 18mbit upstream in the test socket
      and only get 4.8mbit otherwise

      Its clear as day any idiot can see that

      Its not sky's job to come fix your dodgy internal telephone wiring

      Option 1
      fit a vdsl faceplate on the master socket and ensure your modem is using that socket
      and be done with it

      Option 2
      Ignore what other people tell you
      and keep crying to sky about it

    10. #19
      Lonewolfers's Avatar
      Lonewolfers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDMAI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2015
      Location
      Maidstone, Kent
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      You clearly have internal wiring issues if you can get 18mbit upstream in the test socket
      and only get 4.8mbit otherwise

      Its clear as day any idiot can see that

      Its not sky's job to come fix your dodgy internal telephone wiring

      fit a vdsl faceplate on the master socket and ensure your modem is using that socket
      and be done with it
      Ok, thanks ever so much really appreciate it, I am clearly an idiot after using the internal wiring for 4yrs without any issues.

      I will get the VDSL faceplate and "be done with it"

      Could anyone guide me on how I install a VDSL Faceplate, see screenshot below, thats my master socket in the house:

      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20150927_003348.jpg 
Views:	171 
Size:	372.2 KB 
ID:	5857

      As you might gather I am not a telecoms engineer so not sure how one installs a VDSL Faceplate, going to go do some research but just curious if it would be better to get a BT engineer out? Or a Sky engineer as I pay them for voice and broadband? Thanks in advance for any advice.

      Below is the secondary socket I used for 4yrs without any issues:

      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20150927_003833.jpg 
Views:	145 
Size:	946.5 KB 
ID:	5858

      Thanks
      Last edited by Lonewolfers; 27-09-15 at 01:41 AM.

    11. #20
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Broadband keeps losing IP Connection erratically started this week

      Its late im tired
      and was hoping if i was blunt you might get it..

      Its very simple you dont even have to disconnect any wires
      just a case of

      Unscrew the two screws to get access to the test socket
      screw in VDSL faceplate
      Screw top cover into VDSL faceplate

      no filters will be needed anywhere else in the house

      Modern Openreach VDSL/ADSL2+ Faceplate Help Page

      http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Genuine-BT...item3ab20a1be3


      Sky should charge you around 180 or so to fix any internal wiring
      but some people get away with it

      Your easiest way is to just fit a vdsl faceplate
      clearly anything past the faceplate would be unsuitable for broadband from then on
      so your modem would have to be at the master socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION