Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Complete novice seeks help

    This is a discussion on Complete novice seeks help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; First of all, i have never had broadband before, just simple dialup with one.tel in my old house which never ...

    1. #1
      uk_judgement's Avatar
      uk_judgement is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sevenoaks
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Complete novice seeks help

      First of all, i have never had broadband before, just simple dialup with one.tel in my old house which never gave me any problems.

      I moved into a new house 4 weeks ago, registered with sky broadband 3 weeks ago, ordered 2 weeks ago and my activation date was yesterday (please dont hate me).
      I connected the router to the phone socket and turned it on just to check and the green internet light came on so it appears to work.

      I haven't unpacked my computer yet and plan to do this tonight, but can someone help me with the whole installation and set up thing.

      All the technical knowledge in this forum has gone a bit over my head....

      Can i really just connect the ethernet cable into the back of my computer and get going? Surely it cant be that simple?
      Do i need to install the stuff on the sky cd that came with the router?
      Do i need to check my down and upstream speeds too?
      And do i need to download any updates or patches to any software for the router etc.?

      Sorry if this has all been asked before but i refer you to the title of this post.....

      Thanks

      UK_J


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      madman's Avatar
      madman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wandsworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      first of all welcome to the site.

      Can i really just connect the ethernet cable into the back of my computer and get going? Surely it cant be that simple?
      Answer: yep assuming you plug the router correclty.

      Do i need to install the stuff on the sky cd that came with the router?
      - No you dont need to, But as you are totally a novice i recommend loading up the CD and look at the instructions on how to set up.

      Do i need to check my down and upstream speeds too?
      - Not really. If you are not fussy about what your download and upload is like, and are just happy to have broadband you dont need to.

      And do i need to download any updates or patches to any software for the router etc.?
      - nope

    4. #3
      jameseb's Avatar
      jameseb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanishan SWLNI
      Broadband ISP: Connect - but soon Max (4/1/06)
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      South Wales
      Posts
      174
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hey UK_Judgement

      Basically the answer to your questions are:

      1. Yes to a certain extent, most pc's will just work by pluggin in the ethernet cable.
      2. The cd has some useful software on it such as antivirus and firewall which might be of some use to you but it will work with or without the software.
      3. Its useful to check your download and upload speeds to see what you are getting from sky! it can be useful for us lot on here to help you get the most from your connection.
      4. I havent downloaded any updates for the router myself but again you can if you want too but you dont need to if you dont want too.

      J-ames
      Арте́льный горшо́к гу́ще кипи́т. (Moral: Working as a team produces better results!)

      имейте большое рождество и С Новым годом (have a great christmas and a happy new year )

      Dont ya just love russian proverbs!

      J-ames

    5. #4
      uk_judgement's Avatar
      uk_judgement is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sevenoaks
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by jameseb View Post
      Hey UK_Judgement

      3. Its useful to check your download and upload speeds to see what you are getting from sky! it can be useful for us lot on here to help you get the most from your connection.

      J-ames
      Ok, great.
      Erm, how might i do that then?

      Thanks
      James (aka UK_J)

    6. #5
      jameseb's Avatar
      jameseb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanishan SWLNI
      Broadband ISP: Connect - but soon Max (4/1/06)
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      South Wales
      Posts
      174
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      When you have got your pc setup and router connected type http://192.168.0.1 and enter user of Admin and password of sky then click the show statistics button at bottom of that page which will open a up a little window with all that information on it! then you can copy and paste it into here if you need too.

      Hope that helps
      Арте́льный горшо́к гу́ще кипи́т. (Moral: Working as a team produces better results!)

      имейте большое рождество и С Новым годом (have a great christmas and a happy new year )

      Dont ya just love russian proverbs!

      J-ames

    7. #6
      uk_judgement's Avatar
      uk_judgement is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sevenoaks
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by jameseb View Post
      When you have got your pc setup and router connected type http://192.168.0.1 and enter user of Admin and password of sky then click the show statistics button at bottom of that page which will open a up a little window with all that information on it! then you can copy and paste it into here if you need too.

      Hope that helps
      Right, so i clicked on the statistics page and the results came up

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8190 kbps 397 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.5 db 26.6 db
      Noise Margin 9.2 db 24.5 db

      Can someone tell me what this means? I am on the mid package - i thought i could only get 8meg downstream?

      Thanks

    8. #7
      theDarkhorse's Avatar
      theDarkhorse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crawley
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Crawley
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yep, 8190 kbps (kilobits per second) = 8.190 Mbps (Mega bits per second) or around 1 MB/s (1 Megabyte per second).

      Line attenuation is related to how far you are from the exchange, quite near by the looks of it.

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site UK_J

      Very good stats and that is 8MB if you want to test it out try downloading this file.
      ftp://ftp.mirror.ac.uk/edunfs/mirror...4-bootonly.iso

      25MB file
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #9
      uk_judgement's Avatar
      uk_judgement is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sevenoaks
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      So i am still a wee bit confused between wheelie and darkhorses answers...
      The 8190kbps speed, is that 1MB or 8MB downstream?
      Thanks

      James

    11. #10
      Tim1964's Avatar
      Tim1964 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hoddesdon
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      South East Herts
      Posts
      135
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The 8190mbps is just over 8 megaBITS/sec or 1 megaBYTE/sec.

      8 bits = 1 Byte

      Only 142 times faster than dial up !!!!


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION