Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    How do you Check Broadband useage?

    This is a discussion on How do you Check Broadband useage? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Anybody know how to check how much gb you have used out of your total allocation for the month? Had ...

    1. #1
      annie99's Avatar
      annie99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How do you Check Broadband useage?

      Anybody know how to check how much gb you have used out of your total allocation for the month?

      Had a look on sky.com and skybroadband nothing obvious here though.

      Any help appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Tim1964's Avatar
      Tim1964 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hoddesdon
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      South East Herts
      Posts
      135
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I use Tautology's bandwidth meter. It provides a daily, monthly and total record of usage. It's free and available from

      http://homepages.paradise.net.nz/link/tbm/

    4. #3
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      This little utility was just what I was looking for too, to track my usage each month. Thanks!

      On the subject of usage, what do Sky actually do if you exceed the cap, eg 2Gb on the base package. (I know what the T&C's say but wondered what that enforced?)

    5. #4
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
      I haven't seen anything anywhere that suggests they are enforcing it at all.

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Same here, I believe they might use the old BT policy, Cap you at 512k till your next month!

    7. #6
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Thanks for the feedback, useful to know.

    8. #7
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Yeah! But maybe someone should ring and ask! Actually il do that! Need to ring them anyways!

    9. #8
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      I'm sure they will just quote the contract to you?

      But what they actually do might be different?

      (I remember ntl having caps but they only enforced if you really went OTT with downloading)

    10. #9
      valhalla's Avatar
      valhalla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      after having loads of probs to begin with they was going to reduce my speed down to 8 mb and suggested i drop down on to their mid package

      but i told them that i was worried about them cutting me off or recieving a threatening letter the sky bloke turned round and said he hasnt heard of anyone recieving such a warning well not yet anyway

      would be interesting if anyones received a warning


      ooh in any case i bottled it and said keep me has i am

    11. #10
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      I suppose at the moment they are too busy with all the new connections

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION