Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Disconnections

    This is a discussion on Disconnections within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Just had SKY BB for a couple of days and as with everyone else I am getting disconnections. Looking ...

    1. #1
      SteveG's Avatar
      SteveG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stanley
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Disconnections

      Hi,

      Just had SKY BB for a couple of days and as with everyone else I am getting disconnections. Looking at my router statistics it appears that my Noise Margin is very low. I have tried all the fixes I could find on skyuser but the downstream always hangs around 5.6db to 6db.

      Anyone have and ideas how to improve this?

      Thanks




      System Up Time 02:29:52
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 7317 9109 0 146 1386 01:48:40
      LAN 10M/100M 25621 20507 0 2242 336 02:29:50
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37.0 db 24.0 db
      Noise Margin 5.6 db 21.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Drew22's Avatar
      Drew22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      have you tried the opendns change?

    4. #3
      Inept's Avatar
      Inept is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ive been having the exact same problem. It could be a range of problems, theese could span from your distance from your exchange, the amount of residents local to that exchange that use broadband, and how many connection the exchange can handle.

      In short, it seems the BT cut corners when they was meant too invest in upgrading exhanges around the UK, they have gotten away with this for a few years but now its rapidly catching up with them.

      Their simply is not enough bandwidth to go around populated areas, and thus people are getting low noise margins, poor download speed and random disconnections. Luckily for some people, including myself, i generaly go online at unsocial hours like 10pm - 9am when i play my online games. I rarely get a disconnection during theese time frames.

      I cannot recommend anything that will directly inmprove your connection but i do suggest reading some of the tips & tweaks on the forum as their is a possibility that it could make a substantial difference.

      Sorry i could not be of more help.

      As you can see from my statisitcs...ghastly downspeeds...although they said i could handle 8meg or so.

      Port Status xPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 939 1148 0 319 1044 00:18:32
      LAN 10M/100M 929 0 0 75 0 0 0:19:53
      WLAN 11M/54M 2380 2294 0 1176 367 00:19:43

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1880 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 db 33.6 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 11.5 db
      I am the Capri Sun King

      - Society of Inept Baboons -

    5. #4
      SteveG's Avatar
      SteveG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stanley
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Open DNS

      Have not come across that one aprart from ipconfig which sometimes reconnects.

      I have ran tracerts on well known web sites and it appears it can not get past the gateway "dr0-thlon.uk.easynet.net [82.108.0.75] when my connection goes pear shaped.

    6. #5
      Drew22's Avatar
      Drew22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by SteveG View Post
      Have not come across that one aprart from ipconfig which sometimes reconnects.
      Strange problem with secure sites and msn

      on there somewhere

      works for me, still cant get secure sites, but its fine on normal browsing.

    7. #6
      Inept's Avatar
      Inept is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Just curious, what web browser are you using?
      I am the Capri Sun King

      - Society of Inept Baboons -

    8. #7
      Drew22's Avatar
      Drew22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If that is aimed at me - Firefox

    9. #8
      SteveG's Avatar
      SteveG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stanley
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I am using Internet Explorer 6

    10. #9
      Christopher's Avatar
      Christopher is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sacriston
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Durham
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Someone on this forum told me this. if you type this link into your browser

      192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=ping_test&c4_IPAddr=%26/usr/sbin/adslctl+configure+--snr+100

      It can be used to increase your Noise margin

      simply change the number at the end to suit you, example. if you type in

      http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=pi...gure+--snr+150

      this will increase the noise margin

      if you then typed

      http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=pi...gure+--snr+100

      this will reset the noise margin back to its original state you can add any number really on the end.

      http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=pi...gure+--snr+250
      http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=pi...gure+--snr+200

      anything, bear in mind though the larger the number you enter the lower your connection will sync at, this is unfortunately the price to pay for a more stable connection, for me, entering 150 worked great. Shame about things going wrong in other ways now.

      HTH

    11. #10
      SteveG's Avatar
      SteveG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stanley
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wink

      Thanks Christoper, it seems to work but resets if you reboot the router. It would be nice if we did not have to use workarounds like these if SKY could solve all of their proble ms.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION