Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    how to limit bandwidth in all but a specific device?

    This is a discussion on how to limit bandwidth in all but a specific device? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Any viable solution has to do one of two things DPI each and every packet at the router which is ...

    1. #11
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: how to limit bandwidth in all but a specific device?

      Any viable solution has to do one of two things

      DPI each and every packet at the router which is processor intensive and adds packet delay
      or rate limit at the hardware level via a managed switch

      Either way you wont be picking one up for 10p

      i have offered you the best solution from a hardware perspective
      if you dont want to pay it there's not alot more to say


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      skypal's Avatar
      skypal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2015
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how to limit bandwidth in all but a specific device?

      so the cheapest option is Zyxel GS1900 ? and this is ALL I need? it has built in QoS FOR DEVICES?

    4. #13
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: how to limit bandwidth in all but a specific device?

      you can limit the rate of every wired device on the lan
      and if you have a seperate wifi access point you can limit that also
      but ofc you cant limit the wifi built into the sky router

      im it may or may not be the cheapest option but its the best option as its done in hardware at switch level

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: how to limit bandwidth in all but a specific device?

      I have now closed your other thread on this as it is confusing for the members and yourself having 2 threads running on the same subject.
      can anyone tell me which modem will limit bandwidth of devices?

      As I said before Shonk's suggestion to use a managed switch is a good idea, however you must realise that this will only limit the bandwidth of devices directly wired to it, or using a wireless AP wired to it. If the devices you want to limit are wireless then you will have to connect a wireless access point to the switch and force the device users to use it. If the devices you want to limit are connected by ethernet then everything is OK.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      skypal's Avatar
      skypal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2015
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how to limit bandwidth in all but a specific device?

      I bought the Netgear DNG-2200v2, can you tell me please how to configure the Netgear Genie to do what I want? thanks!

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: how to limit bandwidth in all but a specific device?

      First connect your router to your internet connection if you have not already done so and make sure it works properly.

      Then download Netgear Genie and confirm it works with your router. Download the instructions http://www.netgear.com/assets/landin...UM_31Aug11.pdf and read them.

      Create a Guest network by following the instructions in the relevant section.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      skypal's Avatar
      skypal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2015
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how to limit bandwidth in all but a specific device?

      I just connect the router to the plug and it will work?
      how do I enter the password?
      please advise, I need to know the exact steps to take
      Last edited by skypal; 13-05-15 at 10:15 PM.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: how to limit bandwidth in all but a specific device?

      Download and follow the instructions in this PDF - http://www.downloads.netgear.com/fil...or_14Mar13.pdf

      You will need-
      Username and password from your Sky router
      PPPoA
      VCI......0
      VPI......38
      Multiplex.VC-MUX
      MTU 1500.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      skypal's Avatar
      skypal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2015
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how to limit bandwidth in all but a specific device?

      how do I get the:
      Username and password from your Sky router
      PPPoA
      VCI......0
      VPI......38
      Multiplex.VC-MUX
      MTU 1500
      ???

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: how to limit bandwidth in all but a specific device?

      There are 2 possible ways to get your username and password. The original and certain to work way is in this PDF http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/attac...led-router.pdf

      The easiest way, which may not work, is to use the Sagem F@st settings in this online calculator -

      https://www.cm9.net/skypass/

      You can cross check your results by using this calculator -

      Sky BB Pasword Calculator

      You should also download the full manual, if you did not receive it on a disk.
      http://www.downloads.netgear.com/fil..._07Oct2013.pdf

      Using the Netgear Genie you may not need the other settings, they are there just in case you do.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION