Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Installing a new Sky+HD 2TB box

    This is a discussion on Installing a new Sky+HD 2TB box within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, Going to purchase a new Sky+HD TB box as my old HD box is now on its last ...

    1. #1
      Windy Miller's Avatar
      Windy Miller is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Installing a new Sky+HD 2TB box

      Hi Guys,

      Going to purchase a new Sky+HD TB box as my old HD box is now on its last legs!
      The price of the new box is 209 with TV standard set-up 60.
      Is it very difficult to perform the set-up myself and save 60?

      WM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Sky
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,478
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 122 Times in 117 Posts

      Re: Installing a new Sky+HD 2TB box

      Quote Originally Posted by Windy Miller View Post
      Hi Guys,

      Going to purchase a new Sky+HD TB box as my old HD box is now on its last legs!
      The price of the new box is 209 with TV standard set-up 60.
      Is it very difficult to perform the set-up myself and save 60?

      WM.
      If you already have a Sky+HD box then it is very easy.
      It will save you 45 though as the box is 149 and delivery is 15.
      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of Sky

    4. #3
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Installing a new Sky+HD 2TB box

      Hi

      The connections may be in different places but will be the same connection types so yeh relatively easy to set up. The only difference may be if you have your box distributed to other rooms via coax cables as the new boxes no longer have rf out 1 or 2 inputs meaning you would need on i-o link which connects to the i-o port on the box and would then give you an rf out connection. There is also only one scart connection on the new boxes.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    5. #4
      Windy Miller's Avatar
      Windy Miller is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Installing a new Sky+HD 2TB box

      Thanks for your help guys, it's appreciated!
      I'm happy with all the cabling and connecting up; the only thing which I'm slightly concerned about is if the new box requires registering or setting up with new parameters etc.

      WM.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Installing a new Sky+HD 2TB box

      You only need to activate your card for the new box. You can do that by phoning or on line at - https://activatemychannels.sky.com/activate after signing into your account.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Windy Miller's Avatar
      Windy Miller is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Installing a new Sky+HD 2TB box

      Thanks again guys! that's exactly what I wanted to know.
      ----------------------------------------------------------------
      The only thing now, is it possible to download the recorded programs, on the HD, to a portable storage device and then upload them to my new HD when it's up and running?

      WM.

    8. #7
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,190
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 336 Times in 327 Posts

      Re: Installing a new Sky+HD 2TB box

      Not without stripping down both boxes and using a programme such as ExPVR to copy them.

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      Windy Miller (11-02-15)

    10. #8
      Windy Miller's Avatar
      Windy Miller is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Installing a new Sky+HD 2TB box

      Of course .....

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION