Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 102

    Strange problem with secure sites and msn

    This is a discussion on Strange problem with secure sites and msn within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I can browse most sites i need to fine, but as soon as it tries to connect to a secure ...

    1. #1
      rbentley's Avatar
      rbentley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      120
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Strange problem with secure sites and msn

      I can browse most sites i need to fine, but as soon as it tries to connect to a secure page beginning https:// it times out

      This means i can't log in to almost all sites

      Also, MSN messenger is down for me too.

      Any ideas?

      IP range: 90.194.100.**
      Last edited by rbentley; 03-11-06 at 03:26 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Marky-Mark's Avatar
      Marky-Mark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by rbentley View Post
      I can browse most sites i need to fine, but as soon as it tries to connect to a secure page beginning https:// it times out

      This means i can't log in to almost all sites

      Also, MSN messenger is down for me too.

      Any ideas?

      IP range: 90.194.100.**
      Yep, I have the same problem too, tho no solution!

    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Marky-Mark? What is your IP Address?

      May be a IP Issue?

    5. #4
      Cyrus's Avatar
      Cyrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Streetly - CMSTRE
      Broadband ISP: Max, 15.3MB Downstream! B E A Utiful
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Streetly
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Software Firewall?
      "If you are planning for a year, sow rice;
      if you are planning for a decade, plant trees;
      if you are planning for a lifetime, educate people."

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Check your browsers settings? Doesnt IE have a BLOCK HTTPS setting?

    7. #6
      TommoUK's Avatar
      TommoUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bassingham SLBSM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi guys,

      I'm having the same exactly the same problem as rbently, can't access secure sites (banking, lotto, .net passport, messenger).
      Other times I'm getting the Page Cannot Be Displayed message even on normal web sites.

      Been on the phone to TS twice today and have gotten nowhere with them, both times it was like they were reading a script from their computer screen, i was told on both occasions to reset my security settings in internet options and manually input the DNS server ip which have not worked.

      This is happening in both IE7 and Firefox 2.0 and I am using ZoneAlarm 6.5.737.000 (even tried disabling it )

      IP Range 90.194.108.***

      John
      Last edited by TommoUK; 03-11-06 at 05:20 PM.

    8. #7
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      HMMM?

      90.194.100.** - rbently
      90.194.108.** - TommoUK

    9. #8
      rbentley's Avatar
      rbentley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      120
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just to confirm, i have no software firewall on this computer.

      Hopefully this problem is resolved quickly!

    10. #9
      Shadow UK's Avatar
      Shadow UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newbury
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/?
      give this a try people but i think youlll just have to be patient and wait for easynet to sort this out i dont think that your systems are to blame as the probs are the same as every one elses. good luck

    11. #10
      frazzle's Avatar
      frazzle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01509
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Just got off the phone to sky tech support - what a poor service - the guy spent 25 minutes following a script - he didn't know why he was asking me to click here and there, he just new his script was telling him to.

      I have exactly the same problem - for a start the tech support guy said it was a problem with the sites I was trying to access - it was their servers!!

      I explained to him it would be very unlikely that any company that has a HTTPS site would have server problems!! After asking twice he went off to "speak to 2nd level" - he came back and said that it was SKY that were having the problems - somthing to do with upgrading security due to hackers.

      Why on earth don't they have a service status page we can look at??? It would save us all the time of speaking to a bunch of no hopers only to be either fobbed off with rubbish excuses or being left with "it might take 2 or 3 days to rectify".

      Great. This is the first problemI have had with SKYBB in 2 weeks of using it and I have to say, they are no better at sorting it out than my previous supplier, NTL were.

      Anyway, hope this helps people - it's great to have a site like this where at least we know others are affected. Intermittently I can get to https sites such as ebay or paypal but 9 times out of 10 I get page cannot be displayed.

      Oh well, I feel a complaint letter comming on

     

     
    Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION