Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast
    Results 91 to 100 of 102

    Strange problem with secure sites and msn

    This is a discussion on Strange problem with secure sites and msn within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; But that would be sensible , i presume they are still sending me a new router even though i dont ...

    1. #91
      Plusnet suck's Avatar
      Plusnet suck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      114
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      But that would be sensible , i presume they are still sending me a new router even though i dont need one to sort out my problems with https: websites


    2. Advertisement
    3. #92
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      lol probably, now a few of them have the replacing router down as a resolution for everything

    4. #93
      Jackson_50's Avatar
      Jackson_50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re:

      LOL @ new router for everything.

      That is actually quite true. For that, blaim the appauling KMS system (knowledge management ****). For almost every single DSL issue, it generates 3 outputs.

      1. Refer the customer to theyre antivirus supplier.
      2. The customers broadband box is faulty, send them a new one.
      3. Escalate to Tier3 for further testing.

      Alot of the Tech support people actually know what they are doing with regards to theyre job. But they are FORCED to read from an incompetent helpdesk system (KMS).

      At one point, if you cannot access your router settings page (192.168.0.1).
      The agent is advised to send a new broadband box, yes, i know you are all saying "but the NIC card might be disabled and the user doesnt know", thats true , the NIC card might well be disabled, but the wonderful KMS advises you to send the customer a new router. And you can guess what is going to happen when they plug in the new router, yes , it will be the same process ALL OVER AGAIN, becuase a new router is not going to ENABLE the NIC card.
      And this will go on, and on, and on, and on.

      The best solution KMS has to getting into the router settings page, is this.
      "Set a manual IP address of 192.168.0.1 in TCP/IP properties" - Yeah right, give yourself the same IP as the broadband box and this will let you access it?????? Have you ever in your life?

      What this should actually be, is give yourself a manual address of say 192.168.0.2 and specify a DEFAULT GATEWAY of 192.168.0.1 in TCP/IP properties.

    5. #94
      H0OPERS's Avatar
      H0OPERS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Why not tell yas this..
      u wont get this information on the phone anyway!!

      Ex Hackers IP address - Yes thats all you need to know...

    6. #95
      Plusnet suck's Avatar
      Plusnet suck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      114
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by theg33k View Post
      lol probably, now a few of them have the replacing router down as a resolution for everything
      Looks like parcel line tried to deliver my new router today we ought to have a competition for who can get the most routers out of sky

    7. #96
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      dont worry were working on kms, and that error has been fixxed and it now says set the ip at 192.168.0.2

      its going to take time but it will get alot better, for your info after exhausting kms the agent can then offer any additional thoughts on what may fix it.

      although it would help if they where given any more knowledge.

    8. #97
      Plusnet suck's Avatar
      Plusnet suck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      114
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      For sale, brand new boxed never opened Sky router , unwanted gift best offer secures

    9. #98
      H0OPERS's Avatar
      H0OPERS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      ring in go through steps with same problem and you might just get another one... and another one... and another one...

    10. #99
      Plusnet suck's Avatar
      Plusnet suck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      114
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Talking

      oooooooooooo i could set up on Ebay netgear routers cheaper than anyone else

    11. #100
      Jackson_50's Avatar
      Jackson_50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      theg33k
      dont worry were working on kms, and that error has been fixxed and it now says set the ip at 192.168.0.2

      its going to take time but it will get alot better, for your info after exhausting kms the agent can then offer any additional thoughts on what may fix it.

      although it would help if they where given any more knowledge.
      Thanks. Can you please attend to this one.........

      Scenario : DNS Issues

      Were it asks can user browse by IP.....
      If [yes] >> Reset TCP/IP
      If [No] >> Specify Manual DNS settings

      Those are back to front.

      Add some info in there on how to send some pings to the box.
      Good to see if the NIC is enabled before sending a new router.

      Also, where it asks 'Can user access the router settings page (192.168.0.1)'
      If [yes] >> Is there an active internet connection (an ip of 123.123.234.233)
      If [no] >>> Cant remember what it says

      This doesnt mean anything, in alot of cases, the old IP address is still present in the box, so the agent will move to the next step.
      What could work better here is ........

      'Can user access the router settings page (192.168.0.1)'
      If [yes] >> Run sky test
      If [no] >>> Ping Box
      Might work better as if the IP hasnt been renewed, the box usually will return a code 300 on sky test, letting you solve the prob right there. (Ghost/Stale session?)


     

     
    Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION