Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 39

    Netstat

    This is a discussion on Netstat within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; In my numerous conversations with Sky regarding my poor connection they keep asking me to run the above command in ...

    1. #1
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Netstat

      In my numerous conversations with Sky regarding my poor connection they keep asking me to run the above command in a command prompt window.
      Anyone know anything about this and what the different types of connections are ?
      Regards
      Dave


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Psycho's Avatar
      Psycho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGDDLI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      222
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Basically Netstat shows all of the network connections from / to your PC at that time.

      For example, you will see something similar to the following which is you PC's connection to the router:

      TCP ****:**** 192.168.0.1:**** ESTABLISHED

      * = Blanked out port references.

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      The netstat command will show the number of connections running.

      If you have spyware/viruses on your system then they can run a lot of connections and soak up a lot of bandwidth. This is why Sky have asked you to do this.

    5. #4
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      more than 10-12 while your not running any internet programs and you more than probably have something dodgy on your pc.

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Thanks for that. This place gets better by the day. I think I have 6-8 with no internet programs running. Cant check now at work but will later - I am pretty sure they say local host 1029 etc.
      Regards
      dave

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Just got home and checked and this is what netstat reports when i turn on the pc - ie no internet programs running

      Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

      C:\Documents and Settings\dave>netstat

      Active Connections

      Proto Local Address Foreign Address State
      TCP dhit-6f47fbdf76:1025 localhost:1029 ESTABLISHED
      TCP dhit-6f47fbdf76:1025 localhost:1030 ESTABLISHED
      TCP dhit-6f47fbdf76:1027 localhost:1028 ESTABLISHED
      TCP dhit-6f47fbdf76:1027 localhost:1031 ESTABLISHED
      TCP dhit-6f47fbdf76:1028 localhost:1027 ESTABLISHED
      TCP dhit-6f47fbdf76:1029 localhost:1025 ESTABLISHED
      TCP dhit-6f47fbdf76:1030 localhost:1025 ESTABLISHED
      TCP dhit-6f47fbdf76:1031 localhost:1027 ESTABLISHED

      C:\Documents and Settings\dave>

      ive run virus and spyware checks etc that report no problems
      regards
      dave

    8. #7
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      nothing to worry about looking at that m8

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      thats looks fine aswell! nothing to worry about! you should be worried when you have around 20+ and all using dodgey ports and addresses!

    10. #9
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      ok thanks for that, just wondered what they were as after a fresh windows install there wern't any if i remember right
      thanks for your advice once again
      dave

    11. #10
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      PORT 1031 - Information
      Port Number: 1031
      TCP / UDP: TCP
      Delivery: Yes
      Protocol / Name: inetinfo,iad2

      Xanadu
      Port Description: BBN IAD

      Xanadu
      Virus / Trojan: Yes, Caution! Use our free Spyware Remover and Firewall Test.


      Side note: TCP port 1031 uses the Transmission Control Protocol. TCP is one of the main protocols in TCP/IP networks. Whereas the IP protocol deals only with packets, TCP enables two hosts to establish a connection and exchange streams of data. TCP guarantees delivery of data and also guarantees that packets will be delivered on port 1031 in the same order in which they were sent. Guaranteed communication over port 1031 is the key difference between TCP and UDP. UDP port 1031 would not have guaranteed communication in the same way as TCP.

      Because protocol TCP port 1031 was flagged as a virus (colored red) does not mean that a virus is using port 1031, but that a Trojan or Virus has used this port in the past to communicate

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION