Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Slow

    This is a discussion on Slow within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi folks, 1st post so hi Just got set up with Sky and it seems very slow e.g. YouTube not ...

    1. #1
      Hougenie's Avatar
      Hougenie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2014
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow

      Hi folks,

      1st post so hi
      Just got set up with Sky and it seems very slow e.g. YouTube not loading.
      I may be being inpatient as its day 1 and also just came from Virgin fibre optic so was never going to match up but just wonder if anyone can help.
      I have done some research and will post stats below - unsure what they all mean, if they are good/bad etc.

      Help please


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hougenie's Avatar
      Hougenie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2014
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 13:40:50
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1329866 1706531 0 0 0 12:35:17
      LAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN Up 1877404 1503082 0 1 2 00:31:17

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 526 kbps 721 kbps
      Line Attenuation 75.5 dB 49.6 dB
      Noise Margin 6.5 dB 7.7 dB

    4. #3
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Sky
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,478
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 122 Times in 117 Posts

      Re: Slow

      Quote Originally Posted by Hougenie View Post
      Hi folks,

      1st post so hi
      Just got set up with Sky and it seems very slow e.g. YouTube not loading.
      I may be being inpatient as its day 1 and also just came from Virgin fibre optic so was never going to match up but just wonder if anyone can help.
      I have done some research and will post stats below - unsure what they all mean, if they are good/bad etc.

      Help please
      What was your speed estimate when joining?

      I'd guess 1-3Mbps EALS with a MALS of 0.5 Mbps based on those line stats, if not that slow then there is a problem with your line.
      You might need to wait the 10 days for DLM to complete to get things fixed by Openreach if there is a fault.
      You might get a decent Sky technical advisor who will see the fault straight away but a lazy advisor will just tell you to callback after 10 days.

      Personally I moved from 50Mb Virgin to 4.5Mb Sky but I just needed to change the way I used it. Downloading things at night and streaming most things instead of downloading them. More recently my speed is up to ~6mbps but I still do around 300-400Gb per month in usage.

      Virgin's peak speed is amazing but I didn't really need it most of the time to be truly honest.
      Although for total transparency I do work for Sky. So obviously I am biased!...a little bit.

    5. #4
      Hougenie's Avatar
      Hougenie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2014
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow

      Hi bubblegun,

      Just been on the phone to an advisor and speeds should be around 21Mbps and at the moment I am getting 0.4Mbps. He asked me to do several checks which all seemed to be fine, so is sending out an engineer to see if they can fix the problem!

      I really hope they can.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow

      Unless there is a serious fault with your line or setup, you are never going to get any sort of speed. Your attenuation of 75.5dbs indicates that you are on the limit for receiving broadband at all and have a line length of about 6 kilometres.

      Plug your router directly into the test socket and take and post your stats from there. Use only the filter and ADSL cable supplied by Sky, do not use a telephone extension. This will show whether you have a set up problem or one confined to your external line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Hougenie's Avatar
      Hougenie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2014
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Unless there is a serious fault with your line or setup, you are never going to get any sort of speed. Your attenuation of 75.5dbs indicates that you are on the limit for receiving broadband at all and have a line length of about 6 kilometres.

      Plug your router directly into the test socket and take and post your stats from there. Use only the filter and ADSL cable supplied by Sky, do not use a telephone extension. This will show whether you have a set up problem or one confined to your external line.
      Hi Isitme,

      I have done as you asked and these are the stats

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 00:05:02
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6306 7114 0 11008 52142 00:03:42
      LAN Up 10077 8512 0 367229 24589 00:05:02
      WLAN Up 4552 3497 0 4042 3501 00:04:39

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 435 kbps 629 kbps
      Line Attenuation 77.5 dB 49.4 dB
      Noise Margin 6.1 dB 6.6 dB

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow

      That's even worse, which confirms the problem, if it is not purely distance, is somewhere in your external line. Hopefully Sky will send out a broadband engineer who will be able to say just what the problem is.

      If you put your post code in here https://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange_mapping then click on your house location that will show how far you are from the exchange in a straight line. It is not unknown for the actual line length to be double the straight line distance.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION