Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18
    Like Tree3Likes

    How to get a MAC

    This is a discussion on How to get a MAC within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Damned annoyed to say the least. Requested a MAC via Live Chat tonight. I informed the operator I didn't wish ...

    1. #1
      Wingco's Avatar
      Wingco is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      296
      Thanks
      19
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      How to get a MAC

      Damned annoyed to say the least. Requested a MAC via Live Chat tonight. I informed the operator I didn't wish to discuss my reasons for wanting to leave. Despite repeated polite requests to action my request Live Chat was terminated.

      Is there a UK telephone number or email address I can contact?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,191
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 337 Times in 328 Posts

      Re: How to get a MAC

      Have you been advised by your new broadband supplier that you require a MAC? If so call 03442 410709 between 0830 & 2300, use Contact Us on the Sky website or email mysky@bskyb.com quoting your Sky account number.

    4. #3
      Wingco's Avatar
      Wingco is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      296
      Thanks
      19
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: How to get a MAC

      Thanks for your response. I need a MAC apparently because I have Unlimited broadband on a BT phone line.

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,191
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 337 Times in 328 Posts

      Re: How to get a MAC

      Quote Originally Posted by Wingco View Post
      Thanks for your response. I need a MAC apparently because I have Unlimited broadband on a BT phone line.
      You are in a situation where you could need a MAC but it is still best to check with your new provider as, for instance, if you were moving your telephone and broadband to Talk Talk LLU a MAC would not be required.

    6. #5
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: How to get a MAC

      no need for a mac code now i switched from sky to bt and i contacted bt first and there switching me over dealing with the mac issue to save the hassle

    7. #6
      Wingco's Avatar
      Wingco is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      296
      Thanks
      19
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: How to get a MAC

      Was your phone line with Sky or BT? My phone line is with BT and I just want to migrate the broadband.

    8. #7
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: How to get a MAC

      Mine was with sky the broadband to so there moving both over

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: How to get a MAC

      Easiest way is online Apple (United Kingdom) - Mac
      gymno and Poppet25 like this.

    10. #9
      Wingco's Avatar
      Wingco is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      296
      Thanks
      19
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: How to get a MAC

      One Livechat, three emails and a phonecall later I got my MAC
      seawright likes this.

    11. #10
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: How to get a MAC

      I didn't need a Mac when I am moving over to BT I just rang my new ISP and they have dealt with the awkward part.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION