Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    different speeds on Sky?

    This is a discussion on different speeds on Sky? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; my neighbour is on Sky using an old dg900 series, and has a connection speed of around 21mbps. Im on ...

    1. #1
      cypher007's Avatar
      cypher007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kirton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      May 2014
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      different speeds on Sky?

      my neighbour is on Sky using an old dg900 series, and has a connection speed of around 21mbps. Im on sky and have used my billion 7800n to try and go beyond 18mbps, using the snr tweak. no dice. does Sky cap some lines at different speeds? if so how do I get put on the same rate as my neighbour?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,193
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 337 Times in 328 Posts

      Re: different speeds on Sky?

      Sky does not cap the speed of their ADSL service. The DLM process will set your line to the highest stable speed possible. If you have recently replaced your router it may take a while to re-optimise your speed. Your line quality may differ from that of your neighbour. Broadband speed can also be effected by the quality of your internal telephone wiring.
      Could you post your router connection stats as these will give an indication as to whether your line could support a higher speed.
      Also if you have a test socket on your master socket could you plug your router directly into it and check whether it makes any difference to your stats?

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      cypher007 (02-09-14)

    5. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: different speeds on Sky?

      If Seawright' suggestions do not help, just as a trial, could you ask your neighbour if you can borrow his router and see what speed it syncs at on your line. There is a small chance that your neighbour's router's chipset is better matched to the exchange than your Billion.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #4
      cypher007's Avatar
      cypher007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kirton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      May 2014
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: different speeds on Sky?

      my billion syncs at the same speed as the sky 102, but if I tweak the snr lower than 6.4db to say 5db my speed does not increase. this is different to when I was on BT, if I lowered my snr I went faster. what is the max on Sky anyway? I heard there was a different profile you could get put on for gaming which allowed higher speeds.

      re the connections I have spent many ears at another address optimizing the speed there. I recently had bt put in a new master socket that comes direct off the same pole as my neighbour.

      no other sockets just my router, Panasonic dect base, and adsl nation xf1e filter.

      SNR Margin(Upstream) 9.0 dB
      SNR Margin(Downstream) 6.25 dB
      Line Attenuation(Upstream) 9.0 dB
      Line Attenuation(Downstream) 19 dB
      CRC Errors(Upstream) 0
      CRC Errors(Downstream) 0

    7. #5
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,193
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 337 Times in 328 Posts

      Re: different speeds on Sky?

      It looks as if your line could support slightly higher speeds but as it is current operating within allowable levels I doubt whether normal optimisation will increase the speed, not in the short term anyway. DLM re-training could increase your speed by decreasing the downstream margin as low as 3dBs but it could creep up again within the training period if the error rate increased.

      Afaik the gamers profile removes interleaving to improve ICMP ping times but this could actually reduce the download speed.

    8. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: different speeds on Sky?

      With Sky DLM will set the line to its highest stable speed and no matter how much you tweak the SNR you will not go higher. Your line does look like it could carry a bit more with DLMs latest settings. Your best bet is to call Sky and ask them to run DLM training on your line as you have made wiring improvements since it was last run. As said a gaming profile would reduce your speed, not increase it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #7
      cypher007's Avatar
      cypher007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kirton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      May 2014
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: different speeds on Sky?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      With Sky DLM will set the line to its highest stable speed and no matter how much you tweak the SNR you will not go higher. Your line does look like it could carry a bit more with DLMs latest settings. Your best bet is to call Sky and ask them to run DLM training on your line as you have made wiring improvements since it was last run. As said a gaming profile would reduce your speed, not increase it.
      i didnt realise the sky dlm's worked differently. ill try and see if they will retrain. ive had the master socket replaced and now it connects direct to the line outside, not via about 2-3 joints internally.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION