Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky SR102 and Network card

    This is a discussion on Sky SR102 and Network card within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; At the moment my laptop only runs at 65Mbps despite it being having a dual band network card and being ...

    1. #1
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Sky SR102 and Network card

      At the moment my laptop only runs at 65Mbps despite it being having a dual band network card and being able to run at 135Mbps.
      This is because the SR102 Hub only has a single band, capable of 144Mbps.

      Will the following:

      Intel® Wireless-N 7260 Plus Bluetooth*: Product Brief

      Allow me to run my laptop at the maximum of 144Mbps using the Sky Hub?

      Many thanks in advance for any help......


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky SR102 and Network card

      It should do, provided you have the necessary aerial connections. Have a look at this one, it looks good if it fits your laptop.
      Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7260 PCI Express Half Mini Card (7260.HMWWB) - BT Shop

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Sky SR102 and Network card

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It should do, provided you have the necessary aerial connections. Have a look at this one, it looks good if it fits your laptop.
      Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7260 PCI Express Half Mini Card (7260.HMWWB) - BT Shop
      Unless the OP replaces the router with an AC model swapping the card to the AC version of the card they already have isn't going to achieve diddly squat.

      As far as I can tell the 7260N is 2x2:2 in both TX and RX so should be cable of 130Mbit/s on a 20Mhz channel (144Mbit/s with SGI) so as to why it's reporting 65Mbit/s I'm not sure.

      Might be worth checking it's not gone into some stupid powersave mode.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky SR102 and Network card

      Unless the OP replaces the router with an AC model swapping the card to the AC version of the card they already have isn't going to achieve diddly squat.
      As its a laptop, there is a good chance it will be logging into other networks, many of which could be AC compatible. It will not help with the present Sky router, but it will with its replacement.

      As far as I can tell the 7260N is 2x2:2 in both TX and RX so should be cable of 130Mbit/s on a 20Mhz channel (144Mbit/s with SGI) so as to why it's reporting 65Mbit/s I'm not sure.
      He has not got this adapter at present, he is asking if it would give him a higher connection speed, which it should. Why spend money upgrading to old technology when you can get the latest for a few pounds more?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky SR102 and Network card

      Yes I have not got the 7260 installed but as Isitme states I am looking at a card that can give me faster speeds, for just a few quid more, it is definitely worth getting the AC model which will allow me to use it on future wireless networks.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION