Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Setting up expernal device with Sky Hub router

    This is a discussion on Setting up expernal device with Sky Hub router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok I have now added the revised IP address. i have restarted my sky hub. what should happen next? - ...

    1. #11
      delkitch's Avatar
      delkitch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up expernal device with Sky Hub router

      Ok I have now added the revised IP address. i have restarted my sky hub. what should happen next?

      - - - Updated - - -

      Still having no joy. I think I will go back to card machine people to see if anything need to be changes their side. I did notice that the new set up doesn't appear in the attached devices table. Not sure if this is important?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,902
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Setting up expernal device with Sky Hub router

      How was the card machine configured on your previous router?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Setting up expernal device with Sky Hub router

      Quote Originally Posted by delkitch View Post
      Hi yes it was 192.168.2.101
      Why that address - were you advised to use this for the card reader?

      The Sky router has the default address range of 192.168.0.1 - 192.168.0.255 set by the subnet mask of 255.255.255.0. You can further limit the range within the starting and ending address but usually 2- 254 is used (0 and 255 are reserved for other use). If needed you can completely change the IP range the router uses.

      What is important to know is whether the card reader is expecting a particular address range or not and whether it will accept an address given out by the router or not. In other words, do you need to change the address range the router gives out and does the card reader require a specific IP address?

      Tell us what range the reader requires and we can advise what settings you need in your router.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Setting up expernal device with Sky Hub router

      Is there a Reset button on the reader or some other way of resetting it? If there is reset it and try. Does the actual reader connect by ethernet or by bluetooth through a terminal? If its the latter you will have to reset the terminal.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      delkitch's Avatar
      delkitch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up expernal device with Sky Hub router

      I would like to thank Scubbie and Saturday for your input. I have now resolved this issue and my card machine is now running fine.

      if anyone else has this issue I would be glad to offer help

      derek

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION