Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Using Sky Hub SR102-C as a modem and a Billion 7800N as the main routing device

    This is a discussion on Using Sky Hub SR102-C as a modem and a Billion 7800N as the main routing device within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi! I am a relivitely new Sky customer. I have Sky broadband unlimited (amongst other sky services) and I would ...

    1. #1
      D0DG3ER's Avatar
      D0DG3ER is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102-C
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Using Sky Hub SR102-C as a modem and a Billion 7800N as the main routing device

      Hi!

      I am a relivitely new Sky customer. I have Sky broadband unlimited (amongst other sky services) and I would like to be able to use my own router.
      As far as I understand, Sky no longer offer any support on any of their services if a third party router is used.

      I recently acquired a Billion BiPAC 7800N Router and was wondering if it is possible to use this as the Primary routing/DHCP/Wireless device and simply have the sky router in there as a Modem?

      Alternativley, if anyone could give me any other guidence on using my billion router, that would be great. I'd say I am a reasonably technically savvy person, and I deal with network infastructor quite often as part of my job so I'm fairly confident that there will be some way of using this router with my sky service.. I just need to know how!

      Thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      ricopico's Avatar
      ricopico is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wolverton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: TL-WR1043ND (Open-WRT)
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using Sky Hub SR102-C as a modem and a Billion 7800N as the main routing device


    4. #3
      kman28's Avatar
      kman28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Banbridge (NIBB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Using Sky Hub SR102-C as a modem and a Billion 7800N as the main routing device

      If u have the sr102 u probably don't have the separate bt modem.

      This thread should help you after the firmware update

      How to connect two Routers together
      Sky Fiber 40/10 Connection - DL 39998 - UL 10000

    5. #4
      D0DG3ER's Avatar
      D0DG3ER is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102-C
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using Sky Hub SR102-C as a modem and a Billion 7800N as the main routing device

      Quote Originally Posted by kman28 View Post
      If u have the sr102 u probably don't have the separate bt modem.

      This thread should help you after the firmware update

      How to connect two Routers together

      I don't have a separate BT mode as that is normally something that comes with fibre. I have standard ADSL. That link most relates to fibre and unfortunately I don't know how to translate those intructions to work with an ADSL connection

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Using Sky Hub SR102-C as a modem and a Billion 7800N as the main routing device

      Extract your username and password - Extract username and password from sr102

      Put in the following into the Billion settings when required-
      Encapsulation: PPPoA
      VPI................0
      VCI...............38
      Multiplexing: VC-Mux
      MTU.............1500

      That is all you require.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      D0DG3ER (14-07-14)

    8. #6
      kman28's Avatar
      kman28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Banbridge (NIBB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Using Sky Hub SR102-C as a modem and a Billion 7800N as the main routing device

      My bad should of noticed the adsl

      I apologise
      Sky Fiber 40/10 Connection - DL 39998 - UL 10000

    9. #7
      D0DG3ER's Avatar
      D0DG3ER is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102-C
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using Sky Hub SR102-C as a modem and a Billion 7800N as the main routing device

      This worked! Thank you very much!

      Hopefully it will stay working as I've read quite a few posts on here about MER and Mac address-based authentication causing problems after a short time.

      If only Sky provided static Ip addresses, then I'd be well happy!

    10. #8
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Using Sky Hub SR102-C as a modem and a Billion 7800N as the main routing device

      I have been using a Billion 7800N since the day I had sky fibre (almost 2 years now) and I have had no problems with this router.

    11. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Using Sky Hub SR102-C as a modem and a Billion 7800N as the main routing device

      Quote Originally Posted by D0DG3ER View Post
      This worked! Thank you very much!

      Hopefully it will stay working as I've read quite a few posts on here about MER and Mac address-based authentication causing problems after a short time.

      If only Sky provided static Ip addresses, then I'd be well happy!
      Unless you change to Fibre you ae very unlikely to have an problems with MER and if you do your router is equiped to handle it.

      Sky do provide fixed IP addresses with their Pro products which cost an additional 5.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. #10
      D0DG3ER's Avatar
      D0DG3ER is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102-C
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using Sky Hub SR102-C as a modem and a Billion 7800N as the main routing device

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Unless you change to Fibre you ae very unlikely to have an problems with MER and if you do your router is equiped to handle it.

      Sky do provide fixed IP addresses with their Pro products which cost an additional 5.
      Okay that's great. I have just spoke to Sky and they are wanting to charge me an extra 8.75 because I'm currently getting half price ADSL (they gave me that price due to initially booking me for fibre and then telling me on the date of installation that fibre is not and has never been available at my address. As someone who works in broadband provisioning, I honestly can't think of a way that they managed to screw things up that badly).

      Looks like I'll have to take the hit on Pro. I will almost definitely be moving away from Sky once Fibre is available at my address though.

      Thanks again for your help!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION