Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16
    Like Tree2Likes

    changing sky hub for my own router

    This is a discussion on changing sky hub for my own router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i've put the details and still nothing so i'm going to give it up as a bad job for now. ...

    1. #11
      disz4me's Avatar
      disz4me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cymer
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: TP-Link TD-W8980
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changing sky hub for my own router

      i've put the details and still nothing so i'm going to give it up as a bad job for now. hubby keeps pointing to mac addresses and such-like but i have no idea what it all means....


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      47
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: changing sky hub for my own router

      Quote Originally Posted by disz4me View Post
      i've put the details and still nothing so i'm going to give it up as a bad job for now. hubby keeps pointing to mac addresses and such-like but i have no idea what it all means....
      But just think of the satisfaction gained through persevering! Make sure the correct details are entered - specially for any characters that might need to be upper case or lower case, and also zero's that look like the letter O.

      Could you indicate where you entered the SKY details and what error message you got?

      Cheers
      Last edited by Saturday; 04-06-14 at 10:54 AM. Reason: Removed duplicate "updates" - problems with forum software

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: changing sky hub for my own router

      Where did you get the username and password? Getting these from the SR* routers is not very straight forward and it is imperative that these are correct. There is a tutorial on doing this here - Extract username and password from sr102




      * Your mention of the 'smiley face' suggests you have one of these and not the one shown in your Profile.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      disz4me's Avatar
      disz4me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cymer
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: TP-Link TD-W8980
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changing sky hub for my own router

      i typed it in on the page that askedlease enter adsl username and password. it said on the set-up status page that everything had connected successfully but there was no connection at all. i'm baffled

      - - - Updated - - -

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Where did you get the username and password? Getting these from the SR* routers is not very straight forward and it is imperative that these are correct. There is a tutorial on doing this here - Extract username and password from sr102




      * Your mention of the 'smiley face' suggests you have one of these and not the one shown in your Profile.
      that's where i extracted it from. i think the router in my profile is from when my hubby set this account up back in the day

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: changing sky hub for my own router

      Just to check a few things-
      You have selected PPPoA in the Connection type
      You have entered 0 (zero) as the VCI
      and 38 as the VPI
      In the WAN settings you have selected VC-Mux for the Encapsulation Mode.
      You have entered the username and password in the spaces provided, omitting the pipe separator between them.
      Check you have selected ADSL Modem Router mode for the Operation Mode.
      That's all I can think of at the moment.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      disz4me's Avatar
      disz4me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cymer
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: TP-Link TD-W8980
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changing sky hub for my own router

      oh my goodness it works!!!! i can't believe it! i'd put in a 1 instead of an l in the username, dopey cow! thankyou so much for all your help
      jrfer likes this.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION