Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Replace modem & router with one device?

    This is a discussion on Replace modem & router with one device? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It annoys me that I have to have the open reach modem and sky router plugged in taking up two ...

    1. #1
      chickenwings's Avatar
      chickenwings is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Replace modem & router with one device?

      It annoys me that I have to have the open reach modem and sky router plugged in taking up two plug sockets and an Ethernet port in the router.

      Is it possible to replace them with just one device?

      We need connectivity in our garage and need one more Ethernet slot. Would rather not have to buy a third thing taking up another bloody plug socket!

      Home plugs not an option as garage is on sperate circuit.

      Ideas?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Replace modem & router with one device?

      Quote Originally Posted by chickenwings View Post

      Is it possible to replace them with just one device?
      Yes. Sky's latest router the SR102 is a one box solution. Other routers which work (but are in contravention of Sky's current T&Cs) are available.

      You may be able to blag a free SR102 from Sky depending where you are in your contract and whether you're prepared to sign up for another term. Otherwise the new cost is about 70 I believe, second hand will be cheaper and other makes of router more expensive.

    4. #3
      chickenwings's Avatar
      chickenwings is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replace modem & router with one device?

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Yes. Sky's latest router the SR102 is a one box solution. Other routers which work (but are in contravention of Sky's current T&Cs) are available.

      You may be able to blag a free SR102 from Sky depending where you are in your contract and whether you're prepared to sign up for another term. Otherwise the new cost is about 70 I believe, second hand will be cheaper and other makes of router more expensive.
      Thank you. Reviews don't look to favourable for the SR102. How is the wireless signal compared to the Sagem F@ST 2504n?

      Any third party recommendations?

    5. #4
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Replace modem & router with one device?

      sr102 same or similar wireless signal to the sagem only difference in wireless is auto setup for channel as said before call up and see if can get replacement offers change all the time

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Replace modem & router with one device?

      Just a quick note:

      If you are already short of Ethernet ports, could I suggest that yo look towards getting a Network Switch?

      Whilst the ports on the Sky routers are all limited 100mb, provided that your own kit supports 1Gbit ports you could consider a 1Gbit network switch with 8 ports. It would also be useful for the future.

      Network switches for the domestic market tend to be simple things and only require you to connect the Ethernet cables and PSU. The come with a choice of 5 or 8 ports and either 100mb or 1Gbit.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION