Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    VPN Problems since SKY Broadband

    This is a discussion on VPN Problems since SKY Broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi folks, I'm hoping someone might be able to help. I've worked from home for some time using a Cisco ...

    1. #1
      bluenosegoat's Avatar
      bluenosegoat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      VPN Problems since SKY Broadband

      Hi folks,

      I'm hoping someone might be able to help. I've worked from home for some time using a Cisco VPN client. Since installing SKY BB I've not been able to connect to my place of work.

      Here's an extract from the Cisco software log:

      Cisco Systems VPN Client Version 4.0.3 (F)
      Copyright (C) 1998-2003 Cisco Systems, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
      Client Type(s): Windows, WinNT
      Running on: 5.1.2600

      1 11:14:33.375 10/30/06 Sev=Warning/3 CVPND/0xA340000F
      The virtual adapter was not recognized by the operating system.

      2 11:14:33.375 10/30/06 Sev=Warning/2 CM/0xE310000A
      The virtual adapter failed to enable

      3 11:14:33.390 10/30/06 Sev=Warning/2 IKE/0xE3000099
      Failed to active IPSec SA: Unable to enable Virtual Adapter (NavigatorQM:938)

      4 11:14:33.390 10/30/06 Sev=Warning/2 IKE/0xE30000A5
      Unexpected SW error occurred while processing Quick Mode negotiatorNavigator:2201)


      Nothing else has changed except switching ISP's and the new router.

      Before posting BTW I did a check on VPN in the search panel an came up with no posts!

      Hope someone can help,

      Phil.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ironlung's Avatar
      Ironlung is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The errors to me would indicate that the Cisco VPN software isn't installed correctly. If you were using a USB device before for broadband, the problem may have occured when you've gone over to the an ethernet connection.

      A reinstall of the Cisco VPN software may cure the problem. Your running 4.03, which is quite old, I think 4.7 is the latest.

    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      It doesnt seem to be a Broadband Related Issue?

      1 11:14:33.375 10/30/06 Sev=Warning/3 CVPND/0xA340000F
      The virtual adapter was not recognized by the operating system.
      As the Adapter isnt Recongnized by the Operating System?

      What Operating System are you using?

    5. #4
      bluenosegoat's Avatar
      bluenosegoat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi, the devil is in the detail and I gave you hardly any.

      My laptop hasn't changed - I still connect wirelessly but now to the SKY supplied router rather then my old DLink one. This version of Cisco VPN was working until I switched.

      I have XP service pack 2, this combination worked well until I switched ISP.

      I know it doesn't appear to be broadband related but nothing else has changed.

      Any ideas greatly received.

      Thanks in advance,

      Phil.

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      I understand, those errors dont really seem to be broadband related but obviously they are because it was working before right!

      hmmm... A strange one here!

    7. #6
      ub8jayuk's Avatar
      ub8jayuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWUXB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Uxbridge
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have the same client 4.0.3 and work fine over my Sky connection.. It does look like and pc install issue.

      I have also used the same over my previous ISP - UK Online 22mb using a DG834GT. I have never had any issues with a Netgear and my VPN

    8. #7
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Did you install the Sky CD? I believe there's some security stuff on there that may be interfering with it.

    9. #8
      Ironlung's Avatar
      Ironlung is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have seen this type of problem before and a re-install of the VPN Client did the trick. I haven't yet got Sky Broadband so don't know the specifics, but as Hoagie commented, any installation that adjusts the networking stack could break the Cisco VPN client.

    10. #9
      Amaboknaai's Avatar
      Amaboknaai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276 Camberley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Copped Hall
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @Goat - Assuming you are connecting wirelessly?

      On your taskbar, I would hope that you have an Aironet utility. If you right click on it and select "profile" you will see whether your Sky routers wireless profile added.

      If you are connecting through a wired connection, I would suggest uninstalling the VPN client as well as the Cisco Security Agent and then running a full reinstall.

    11. #10
      leolewis's Avatar
      leolewis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cisco VPN Client

      Hi there - I'm not technical but I too work from home using Sisco VPN client version 4.0.3 under WIN NT.

      I have had no problems at all - I was with Bulldog before moving to SKY and, by sheer coincidence, SKY supply a Netgear router, the same as I was using before. It does indeed sound like a problem with the client rather than the router/BB connection - can you seek help from your IT support guys at work...?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION