Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Speed test by easynet/sky?

    This is a discussion on Speed test by easynet/sky? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/image...attach/jpg.gif File Type: jpg well here is a pic, to make people laugh,(hopefully it comes out here) wish I could ...

    1. #11
      boomish's Avatar
      boomish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/image...attach/jpg.gif
      File Type: jpg
      well here is a pic, to make people laugh,(hopefully it comes out here)
      wish I could say it was all sorted, spoke to a girl at sky this morn who was very sweet but seem somewhat lost as to the problem, she said she can't see why I am capped there is no note of it, and would have to refer it to someone else to look into it.
      She kind of made out like that I'm getting max now, I told her the two previous tech guys both said I was capped and was because my connection would be unreliable for them to make it faster. I had to convince her to pass it on.
      Now I have to wait up to 5 days for someone to phone me back. weird guys I spoke to before had the controls in their hands, I suppose it's luck who you get through to.
      I phoned the 0800 number maybe there is a direct tech number that would have been better.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Speed test by easynet/sky?-phone-filters.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      fubofo's Avatar
      fubofo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: NTL
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      BELFAST
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      LOL love it

      Hey Boomish, lovin the daisy chain

      Though I still dnt see a need for it as your router is plugged into the first one, thus not really affecting the connection to your router. Chances are, if ya plug it into the 3rd (or FOURTH eheh), ya probably lose your connection. Please try it anyway and let me know.

      As for the tech guys, you most likely went to Tier 1 and as far as I know onlyTier 3 can cap your line, which unfortunately takes a while for your ticket to reach them. Hope it all works out for ya

    4. #13
      boomish's Avatar
      boomish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by fubofo View Post
      Hey Boomish, lovin the daisy chain

      Though I still dnt see a need for it as your router is plugged into the first one, thus not really affecting the connection to your router. Chances are, if ya plug it into the 3rd (or FOURTH eheh), ya probably lose your connection. Please try it anyway and let me know.

      As for the tech guys, you most likely went to Tier 1 and as far as I know onlyTier 3 can cap your line, which unfortunately takes a while for your ticket to reach them. Hope it all works out for ya
      Check the results , in the post on the first page, each filter gained a 1dB or so! I took readings as I attached each one. I know it seems mad but hey it works.
      Thanks for the tip, I hope sky sort it soon, good news it's been on all day at the fastest it's ever been! and no weir drop outs or lag.
      Connection Speed 7645 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.5 db 20.3 db
      Noise Margin 15.9 db 12.5 db

    5. #14
      boomish's Avatar
      boomish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile update

      Well the nice people at Sky did eventually uncap me and I get 12 meg now, my router is rock solid at this speed, not a disconection at all but the noise margin has gone down and general surfing feels very slow, which is odd, although I can get great download speed though.
      Connection Speed 11997 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.5 db 20.2 db
      Noise Margin 10.8 db 8.0 db

      so thanks for all the help guys I got there in the end, unfortunalty the other nightmare is my domain people didnt forward my email properly so found out I was only getting half of my emails, arghh what a disaster...oh and today my web page also started suffering the same thing, they keep pointing to my old server address, so it's not just sky having problems.

    6. #15
      Edmunders's Avatar
      Edmunders is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02380
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Southampton
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed test by easynet/sky?

      This is mine,

      Connection Speed 7360 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39 db 24 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 27 db

      I live in southampton but thought i would do the test to london and birmingham (I don't know what is best to test) this is utterly pathetic as i have had virgin bb 2mb and it was so much faster on games etc with no random drops.

      london


      birmingham


      My router has been moved away from as many electricals as I could and there is only the landline phone plugged into the microfilter in the 1 and only master socket we have. I've not phoned sky yet, might I benefit from asking them from what has been posted here?

    7. #16
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed test by easynet/sky?

      Start your own thread, this one is nearly 3 yrs old.

      Also try a wire, not wireless and forget that test site it's useless, try the one on this forum.

    8. #17
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Speed test by easynet/sky?

      Congratulations on reviving a thread that's nearly 3 years old

      Are you sure you're on Sky Base (or whatever they call it now) - those stats look like Connect to me. In which case I suggest you look at one of the many more recent Connect threads e.g. (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users.

    9. #18
      Edmunders's Avatar
      Edmunders is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02380
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Southampton
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed test by easynet/sky?

      Alright calm down! I didn't care to look at the date. I just searched for this. Also I don't have any idea what the exchange and pretty much anything else so I just filled it out because it wouldn't let me continue.

    10. #19
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Speed test by easynet/sky?

      Edmunders
      Hi all Smithy is saying start your own thread so your problem can be looked at and if possible help towards solving it as Saturday says looks like you are on connect, With an Upstream of 448kbps that is the connect package re-badged Bt product also your exchange is it woolston (stwlstn) if so Sky / Easynet was Enabled as of 28/06/2007. It could be a good idea finding out what package you are on Base or connect

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed test by easynet/sky?

      I don't think the poster is on Base, if he were he would not be syncing at over 7000kbps. Like many, he is suffering from Connectivitus. He should read Saturdays link and open his own thread if his problem is different from the well known Connect one.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION