Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    losing connection

    This is a discussion on losing connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I know this has probably been covered somewhere - but searching through the topics it could be anything... just wondered ...

    1. #1
      Jaysun's Avatar
      Jaysun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield (EMMNSFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy losing connection

      I know this has probably been covered somewhere - but searching through the topics it could be anything... just wondered if someone had a more direct answer to this?

      Basically I can be using my internet just fine - speeds are about 8mb downstream on a lan wired connection to my pc, suddenly webpages wont load, messenger services disconnect - yet my router is still displaying as connected

      If I leave the pc on a download (either ftp from my site or torrent etc) whilst I'm out it seems to lose connection after less than an hour.

      I've had a lot of problems with my skybroadband service since starting it and spent some time going through some stuff with a tier 3 techguy a while ago who put me on the lower 8-10mb download service to get rid of any errors on the line... could there still be errors causing these problems? would getting them to drop it more solve the problem?

      Any help appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Jaysun's Avatar
      Jaysun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield (EMMNSFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      anyone any ideas?

      Just phone Sky Tier One techincal - they reckon its a BT problem and I should contact them...

      I already know from past support from Tier 3 thats its never actually been anything to do with BT - its always been related to Sky

    4. #3
      mayhem121's Avatar
      mayhem121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i read somewhere on the site that if you turn your upnp off in the settings page of your router itll help........ its helped me ive been online for nearly 3 hours with no problem whatsoever however my internet connection speed info in the system tray has disapeared

    5. #4
      ellies14me's Avatar
      ellies14me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Willenhall (01902)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Walsall
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Another tweek you can try - is to enter your Router:

      Under WAN Setup look for MTU....this reads 1500 by default.

      Change to 1458 and click "apply"

      This reduces the size of information your line requests at a time, so you should see a little more stability.

      If you have to re-boot the Router, unlike some of the other values - I think this one returns to the default 1500, so check that one again if it does improve your connection.

      (Sky Technical actually told me this)
      Yes ! - they do call back !!!!! sometimes

      Regards,
      Ian.
      Last edited by ellies14me; 29-10-06 at 05:31 PM.

    6. #5
      StevieBoy's Avatar
      StevieBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Mayhem there's lots of good tips when you have a scout round the forums.Fibre's tutorial section is a good one and particularly his post on optimising your PC's performance.

      TBH I haven't gone as far as the tuneup utilites yet 'cos my system is running ok at present and I don't believe in tinkering for the sake of it.Plus it's always a good idea to read the reviews on certain products.

      Overall Tuneup utilities receives good press but now and again people have had their systems hosed and been left in the lurch.

    7. #6
      StevieBoy's Avatar
      StevieBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ellie there has been some debate about changing your MTU setting and apparently it's common knowledge that sky tech have been giving out this info' but I think there are posts on this board that advise against doing this.

      However, if you've tried it and it improves your overall performance then fair play to you.

    8. #7
      ellies14me's Avatar
      ellies14me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Willenhall (01902)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Walsall
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'll be the first to let you know if stability is better !

    9. #8
      StevieBoy's Avatar
      StevieBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      OK m8.All the best.

    10. #9
      Jaysun's Avatar
      Jaysun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield (EMMNSFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i'll try turning of the upnp next time my connection goes down... i've lost it 3 times today since I got home at about 1pm

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION